title
Products            Buy            Support Forum            Professional            About            Codec Central

Thread: Ripping is slow (4x) and C2 error pointers will not work...

Unhappy Ripping is slow (4x) and C2 error pointers will not work...

I apologize if this has already been answered somewhere, but I'm a noob to the forum (and in general) and could not find a solution.

After following all the instruction for setting up CD Ripper with secure rip, I attempted to rip a mint CD, however the drive only ripped at a slow speed of 4x (a few tries it did go at 18x if another program had spun up the drive), and changing the spin up time did not help. Furthermore, if I enabled C2 error pointers, the first track received nearly 2000 errors, which if I had the limits off it would very slowly work through. Otherwise if the limit was at 100, it would finish the track, have status of error, and fail to initiate the second track.... the only way to exit would be to kill the program from task manager.

Both of my drives (HL-DT-ST: BDDVDRW GGC-H20L and HL-DT-ST : DVDRAM GH20NS10) experienced this problem, and both are much faster and should have C2 error pointers.

This seems like it would be an excellent product for exactly what I need, but I have wasted tons of time trying to get it to work properly, to no avail..... any help would be greatly appreciated, hopefully it's something simple and I'm just a clueless idiot :o:p

Sorry for the super long post... I just wanted to include all the info...

Note: Both drives are working in DMA mode 5

Re: Ripping is slow (4x) and C2 error pointers will not work...

If it's useful, here is the text from the logfile of trying to rip my good condition CD with the different settings:

__________________________________________________ ____________________________________

dBpoweramp Release 13.2 Digital Audio Extraction Log from April-04-09 5:47 AM

Drive & Settings
    ----------------