title
Products            Buy            Support Forum            Professional            About            Codec Central
 
Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: Adding CD Track Nmes Prior to Ripping - Easier Way?

  1. #1
    dBpoweramp Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Austin TX
    Posts
    72

    Adding CD Track Nmes Prior to Ripping - Easier Way?

    As you may already know, I am ripping about 15,000 CDs to .flac.

    dBpoweramp CD ripper is certainly an invaluable tool.

    However, I find it cumbersome when entering the track names for CDs that don't have online metadata.

    Am I doing something wrong?

    I click around the track number once or twice and the track title then becomes editable.

    I then click ONCE OR TWICE on the next track number, etc.

    It would be nice if a track editing dialog would open in which one could edit all of the track names with one click and tab around the different fields.

    This easier track name entry would make it more likely for people to enter the data and submit it to AMG and Freedb so that others can use it subsequently. Just to give you an idea, I am submitting 5-10 CDs metadata per week as well as Accuraterip info on the new CDs.

    Maybe this type of trackname entry is available and I am missing it?

    Thanks for your consideration of this post.

    Happy Holidays where applicable.
    Last edited by jimzzzak; 12-07-2008 at 07:14 AM.

  2. #2
    dBpoweramp Enthusiast
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    97

    Re: Adding CD Track Nmes Prior to Ripping - Easier Way?

    Alt+M

  3. #3
    dBpoweramp Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Austin TX
    Posts
    72

    Re: Adding CD Track Nmes Prior to Ripping - Easier Way?

    Wooohooooo.

    Thanks.

  4. #4
    dBpoweramp Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Austin TX
    Posts
    72

    Re: Adding CD Track Nmes Prior to Ripping - Easier Way?

    Very strange.

    I am using Alt+M but I cannot get the editing window to open.

    What's up?

  5. #5
    dBpoweramp Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    60

    Re: Adding CD Track Nmes Prior to Ripping - Easier Way?

    Hi,

    It would only seem to work if PerfectMeta is the data source.

    Daz

  6. #6
    dBpoweramp Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Austin TX
    Posts
    72

    Re: Adding CD Track Nmes Prior to Ripping - Easier Way?

    I don't understand.

    I just got to another CD with no metadata.

    I am unable to open the editing window with Alt+M.

    I am trying to add track names, etc. to CDs that are not in any of the online databases apparently.

    Why won't the editing window open???

    Can someone give me some definitive guidance?

  7. #7
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    38,768

    Re: Adding CD Track Nmes Prior to Ripping - Easier Way?

    The windows only opens if there is data from 2 proivders.

  8. #8
    dBpoweramp Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Austin TX
    Posts
    72

    Re: Adding CD Track Nmes Prior to Ripping - Easier Way?

    Well, thanks for the information.

    May I request in a future version that the editing window open without this requirement?

    I have a lot of CDs that are not in the database and the editing window simplifies adding their metadata as well as then getting it online for the next person with that disc.

    Thanks for your consideration.

  9. #9

    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Herefordshire, UK
    Posts
    33

    Re: Adding CD Track Nmes Prior to Ripping - Easier Way?

    It may not help much, but if you edit the first track name, when you are finished with it press Enter; that will take you into edit on the next track. I find this makes it easier, because I am so clumsy that it can take me several clicks before I get into Edit Mode.

    I agree though, editing track names is a real pain in the...

    That is a shame because, for me, the data from the outside providers is just a starting point - I very often want to edit it. Indeed, for my classical stuff, I usually change several pieces of Album data, and sometimes I have to change masses of stuff - Genre, Artist, Composer (getting rid of forenames), Album title (especially if dividing the album into new "albums"), track names, etc, etc.

    Editing Album data is a pain...
    Last edited by arthurb; 12-14-2008 at 12:23 PM. Reason: More stuff

  10. #10
    dBpoweramp Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Austin TX
    Posts
    72

    Re: Adding CD Track Nmes Prior to Ripping - Easier Way?

    I just wanted to thank the programmer.

    With the current edition, I am able to open the track identification fields template up via Alt-M for easy entry/editing of the CD data. This is particularly useful for new CDs that are not in any of the databases that come with dBp.

    Thanks!!!!

  11. #11
    dBpoweramp Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    190

    Re: Adding CD Track Nmes Prior to Ripping - Easier Way?

    Sometimes, the Alt+M method won't bring up the editing window if the main ripper window is inactive. Try clicking anywhere on the main program window and then try Alt+M.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •