title
Products            Buy            Support Forum            Professional            About            Codec Central
 
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Ripping vs Converting Question

  1. #1

    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    7

    Question Ripping vs Converting Question

    First I hope this hasn't been asked/answered already & I simply missed it. I'm wondering if there's any noticeable quality difference between these two activities;

    Rip to FLAC, then convert same files to *.mp3

    or

    Rip to FLAC, then rip again to *.mp3

    Maybe another way to put this is - is there a compelling reason to use one approach over the other? Beyond the obvious convenience factor of having to only insert the disc once, I'm asking because more often than not, when I rip to mp3 I get one to two errors where a track wasn't ripped. I have yet to get same type of error when ripping to FLAC. I have never gotten an error when converting the same track to mp3. For a while I was ripping twice, once to FLAC & then later to mp3. When I encountered an error, I would then convert the specific track from FLAC to mp3. This is prompting me to consdier converting all my FLACís instead of ripping twice. For what it's worth & for various reasons I'm ripping to mp3 (320vbr).

  2. #2
    dBpoweramp Guru LtData's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    8,332

    Re: Ripping vs Converting Question

    No, there shouldn't be a quality difference between the two methods, no. What was the error you were getting?

  3. #3

    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    7

    Re: Ripping vs Converting Question

    Hmmm, I cleared the error log. As you know, RIPNAS will show that there was an error in the right pane. When I view the log, I see which track didn't get ripped. I didn't really investigate further because I just jumped on the convert option. I have a few CD that I've ripped to FLAC, so I'll rip them now to mp3 & check again. Is there something specific I should note or investigate?

  4. #4

    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    7

    Re: Ripping vs Converting Question

    Ok, this is pretty typical when ripping to mp3. The error pane reports this:

    Solo Guitar Ripping Error 1 Error, 13 Accurate

    The log shows this: (Note - I edited the naming format - but was getting these errors even before doing that).

    Disc 9: Earl Klugh - Solo Guitar Reject 2: Ripping Error
    Error ripping to mp3 (Lame), 'Track 1' to 'd:\Shares\Music\[MAXLENGTH]200,Earl Klugh\Solo Guitar\It's Only a Paper Moon.mp3'
    Error writing audio data to StdIn Pipe [clEncoder::EncodeBlock]
    Track 1 Result: Error
    Track 2 Result: AccurateRip: Accurate (confidence 7) [1B778ABA]
    Track 3 Result: AccurateRip: Accurate (confidence 7) [8F0D7A14]
    Track 4 Result: AccurateRip: Accurate (confidence 7) [19AB4CF3]
    Track 5 Result: AccurateRip: Accurate (confidence 7) [1E10DD1E]
    Track 6 Result: AccurateRip: Accurate (confidence 7) [1E1EEEB3]
    Track 7 Result: AccurateRip: Accurate (confidence 7) [609BC3AD]
    Track 8 Result: AccurateRip: Accurate (confidence 6) [EA784266]
    Track 9 Result: AccurateRip: Accurate (confidence 7) [61A7A0FC]
    Track 10 Result: AccurateRip: Accurate (confidence 7) [E2A6288B]
    Track 11 Result: AccurateRip: Accurate (confidence 7) [1E5DD4E9]
    Track 12 Result: AccurateRip: Accurate (confidence 7) [6ADBCC33]
    Track 13 Result: AccurateRip: Accurate (confidence 7) [1D41638F]
    Track 14 Result: AccurateRip: Accurate (confidence 6) [543B5E39]
    Combined Result: 1 Error, 13 Accurate

  5. #5
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    40,645

    Re: Ripping vs Converting Question

    You are best converting FLAC to mp3 if you have that choice on WHS. (the above error is from WHS failing to write the mp3 file, it can do this when the CPU and CD drive are under a certain load).

  6. #6

    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    7

    Re: Ripping vs Converting Question (Ripping Errors)

    Yes, WHSlets me convert to FLAC. I'm curious though. Why I don't get the same error when ripping to FLAC? All things being the same, what would it matter? With regards to possible load impact - I have streamed 320vbr mp3 files from WHS to my Onkyo, while at same time ripping CD to FLAC, with zero errors. My WHS has 2gb RAM as well.

    Assuming I understand the point you are making, and as a test, I suspended using WHS for anything (no remote access, no streaming, no outside usage by friends). I then ripped yet another CD & still got errors (shown below).

    Not a show stopper since I can convert from FLAC to mp3 & there doesn't appear to be any audio quality loss or difference. Mainly I am just curious why this happens (it's my nature).

    dBpoweramp Batch Ripper
    Batch Name:
    Batch ID: 50026
    Using Profile: (default)
    Batch Rip Started: 11/28/2008 20:46:17

    Disc 1: [AMG] Earl Klugh - Sounds and Visions, Vol. 2 Reject 1: Ripping Error
    Error ripping to mp3 (Lame), 'Track 3' to 'd:\Shares\Music\[MAXLENGTH]200,Earl Klugh\Sounds and Visions, Vol. 2\Orchestra Intro.mp3'
    Error opening file, check no other program has it open. [clDecoder::WriteIDTags]
    Error ripping to mp3 (Lame), 'Track 12' to 'd:\Shares\Music\[MAXLENGTH]200,Earl Klugh\Sounds and Visions, Vol. 2\Barefoot in the Park.mp3'
    Error writing audio data to StdIn Pipe [clEncoder::EncodeBlock]
    Error ripping to mp3 (Lame), 'Track 15' to 'd:\Shares\Music\[MAXLENGTH]200,Earl Klugh\Sounds and Visions, Vol. 2\Love Theme from The Carpetbaggers.mp3'
    Error opening file, check no other program has it open. [clDecoder::WriteIDTags]
    Track 1 Result: AccurateRip: Accurate (confidence 8) [9F84222A]
    Track 2 Result: AccurateRip: Accurate (confidence 8) [95030280]
    Track 3 Result: AccurateRip: Accurate (confidence 8) [FE419C9E]
    Track 4 Result: AccurateRip: Accurate (confidence 8) [0DEEAE21]
    Track 5 Result: AccurateRip: Accurate (confidence 8) [8F612881]
    Track 6 Result: AccurateRip: Accurate (confidence 8) [8BB76CE5]
    Track 7 Result: AccurateRip: Accurate (confidence 8) [52781A2D]
    Track 8 Result: AccurateRip: Accurate (confidence 8) [CE708112]
    Track 9 Result: AccurateRip: Accurate (confidence 8) [AAD198A8]
    Track 10 Result: AccurateRip: Accurate (confidence 8) [194F56EE]
    Track 11 Result: AccurateRip: Accurate (confidence 8) [938F2D12]
    Track 12 Result: Error
    Track 13 Result: AccurateRip: Accurate (confidence 8) [D494034C]
    Track 14 Result: AccurateRip: Accurate (confidence 8) [19E979BB]
    Track 15 Result: AccurateRip: Accurate (confidence 8) [DAFAD09E]
    Track 16 Result: AccurateRip: Accurate (confidence 8) [7E72F78A]
    Track 17 Result: AccurateRip: Accurate (confidence 8) [299096A5]
    Track 18 Result: AccurateRip: Accurate (confidence 8) [2580D2F1]
    Combined Result: 1 Error, 17 Accurate

  7. #7
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    40,645

    Re: Ripping vs Converting Question (Ripping Errors)

    What is happening is:

    We use an unmodified lame.exe for lame encoding. During encoding one of the disk writes (to HDD) is failing, Lame then exits. It is a file system issue of WHS - our Lame.exe is used in the 100,000's and we have never heard of this problem before until WHS was used.

    If the CD drive is not being used there is no problem encoding to lame.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •