title
Products            Buy            Support Forum            Professional            About            Codec Central

Thread: Thorough/Granular access to AMG db?

Thorough/Granular access to AMG db?

Hi all, I've been using dbpoweramp for many years and I love it.
    There's a functionality that I would like to see but I don't know if it's possible.

Basically, my collection is in FLAC, and I have specific tagging needs. I have many custom tags that I use in my collection. Currently, I scrape allmusic.com using a really complex The Godfather script. It's super complex, although they work reasonably well (but sometimes unreliable), I can't find the motivation to improve on them because of the complexity of the code.

I'm intrigued with the AMG support, I already have the license but it seems to be limiting me. So I have a few questions:

1.) Is it possible to have more thorough and granular access to the AMG database using or not the CD ripper program? In particular, I like to have the "Performer" information (for example, orchestra, conductor, etc...). For classical music, I currently tag such information as Composer country, period, composition date, first performance date, composer biographies, reviews, etc... Another example to classical music is I like to tag the Work title and the Opus separatly in custom tags and then combine then in the standard "title" tag so that my MP3 player can see the tags.

2.) If the above information is available, is it possible to have more control in terms of exactly how to tag my files? I would like to have full control over exactly which information is tagged in which exact tag value.

If the above functionality is already available, I'd love some assistance in guiding me. I haven't dwelled deeply into several aspects of the programs.

I don't currently have the Reference license but I am seriously considering it especially if the above is possible or can be added in the near future.

Thanks in advance!

dBpoweramp Guru