title
Products            Buy            Support Forum            Professional            About            Codec Central

Songs sound funny

Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • ashley369
    • Dec 2007

Songs sound funny

I don't know what to do to make my songs sound normal on my cd player after i convert them.. I tried using mono and stereo and they both sound funny after i burn the cd and play it on my car stereo. What are the correct settings I shoul be using? I am a novice at this so any feedback would help. Thanks and Merry Christmas all!!
  • LtData
    dBpoweramp Guru
    • May 2004

Re: Songs sound funny

What format and bitrate are your original files?

Comment

• ashley369
      • Dec 2007

The bitrates are all different. Anywhere from 128k to 258k .. but mostly 192k. They are all in mp3 format already but i am converting them to mp3 lame to make a cd with more songs on it. Am i using the wrong settings when I convert them?

Comment

• LtData
        dBpoweramp Guru
        • May 2004

What is the frequency or sample rate of your files? Mono or stereo?

Comment

• ashley369
          • Dec 2007

Most of them are 44.1 khz but some of them are 32.0.. How do I find out if they are mono or stereo? When i converted them i tried both and they both sounded off...

Comment

• LtData
            dBpoweramp Guru
            • May 2004

Right-click on the files and go to properties, you should have an "Audio Properties" tab which will tell you.

Comment

• Ney
              • Nov 2007

Converting from one lossy format to another lossy format can sometimes makes the songs sounds funny. Remember lossy formats remove song information!

Comment

• ashley369
                • Dec 2007

Originally posted by Ney
                Converting from one lossy format to another lossy format can sometimes makes the songs sounds funny. Remember lossy formats remove song information!
                I have no idea what that means...