title
Products            Buy            Support Forum            Professional            About            Codec Central
 
Results 1 to 15 of 19

Thread: How to rip thousands of cds?

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
  1. #1

    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Portland, Oregon USA
    Posts
    8

    How to rip thousands of cds?

    What hardware is suggested? Is there a way I can have 1 pc run multiple cd drives and rip multiple cds at once?

    Thank you

  2. #2
    dBpoweramp Guru LtData's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    8,332

    Re: How to rip thousands of cds?

    You could rip multiple CDs on one computer, but it results in unpredictible results. dMC has early (beta) support for automated CD loaders, if you have to rip lotsa CDs. See the beta section of this forum for details.

  3. #3
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    40,648

    Re: How to rip thousands of cds?

    >>same post form Hydrogen Audio<<
    Entry level into robotic (non carrousel) loading is the Datatronics MiniCubis (they are the manufactuer, the drives also are sold under the names: MFDigital Baxter, Stordigital 25, Diskmakers Pico, Acronova DupliQ).

    They have a 25 disc capacity, which is about 1 hours of ripping. Currently only 1 of these drives can be used on the same PC at once, we (dBpoweramp) are working with datatronics to get multiple drives working from the same PC.

    ----------

    As bhoar mentioned we have open testing of our new dBpoweramp Batch Ripper, you can read our mission statement with it here:

    http://forum.dbpoweramp.com/showthread.php?t=13597

    This one program is going to shake up the entire segment of this industry, we are working with around 100 companies, from top radio stations to system integrators and bulk ripping providers to ensure, everyone is catered for. This market segment will look very different next year....

    Currently this is the only secure batch ripper, from our 6 months of testing (and in our opinion) it is more secure than EAC.

    We have made it open so it is not locked to a single loading device. Full release of our Ripper will be around Christmas time (so less than 3 months).

    Currently Minicubis (and varieties are supported) as are manual loading towers. Support for Sony (multichanger) will appear very shortly, other robots before release.

    -----------

    >"I would like to add, that multiple ripping drives on the same PC is a really bad idea."

    4 drives ripping at 25x is about 16MB a second, a modern PC can easily handle such speeds.

  4. #4
    dBpoweramp Guru
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Phoenix, AZ
    Posts
    1,290

    Re: How to rip thousands of cds?

    I never understood the reasoning behind multiple cd ripping... I can understand if multiple CD drives are used, but even if you had, say, 10 drives, wouldn't you be reducing the life-span of all your CD drives even if you ripped X number of CDs sequentially? Or does the life-span reducing principle only apply to burning cds?

  5. #5
    dBpoweramp Guru
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    1,175

    Re: How to rip thousands of cds?

    Quote Originally Posted by LtData
    You could rip multiple CDs on one computer, but it results in unpredictible results. dMC has early (beta) support for automated CD loaders, if you have to rip lotsa CDs. See the beta section of this forum for details.
    Just to clarify: the alpha, currently, allows you to use *all* optical drives in your computer in parallel for ripping. So, if you have a desktop with two or three optical drives mounted in the front, you can manually load all of them up and rip more than one cd at once.

    Just make sure that you use the standard dbpa CD Ripper client to configure each of the drives first (for cache size, cache clear/fua, c2 and accuraterip) before using the batch ripper.

    Quote Originally Posted by neilthecellist
    I never understood the reasoning behind multiple cd ripping... I can understand if multiple CD drives are used, but even if you had, say, 10 drives, wouldn't you be reducing the life-span of all your CD drives even if you ripped X number of CDs sequentially? Or does the life-span reducing principle only apply to burning cds?
    I'm a bit confused. Can you rephrase the question(s)?

    -brendan

  6. #6
    dBpoweramp Guru
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Phoenix, AZ
    Posts
    1,290

    Re: How to rip thousands of cds?

    I mean like, I know that burning many CD's in a sequence deteriorates the life of your CD burner, but I was wondering if ripping CD's would also cause some damage to the CD drive too.

  7. #7

    Re: How to rip thousands of cds?

    Quote Originally Posted by Spoon View Post
    >>same post form Hydrogen Audio<<
    Entry level into robotic (non carrousel) loading is the Datatronics MiniCubis (they are the manufactuer, the drives also are sold under the names: MFDigital Baxter, Stordigital 25, Diskmakers Pico, Acronova DupliQ).

    They have a 25 disc capacity, which is about 1 hours of ripping. Currently only 1 of these drives can be used on the same PC at once, we (dBpoweramp) are working with datatronics to get multiple drives working from the same PC.
    Can multiple MiniCubises run at the same time now on one PC? It's been three years since this post, I hope some progress has been made

  8. #8
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    40,648

    Re: How to rip thousands of cds?

    No they cannot

  9. #9

    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    13

    Re: How to rip thousands of cds?

    Quote Originally Posted by LtData View Post
    You could rip multiple CDs on one computer, but it results in unpredictible results. dMC has early (beta) support for automated CD loaders, if you have to rip lotsa CDs. See the beta section of this forum for details.
    What do you mean ripping multiple CDs on one computer results in unpredictable results?

    NoMo

  10. #10
    dBpoweramp Guru LtData's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    8,332

    Re: How to rip thousands of cds?

    I mean that if you have multiple CD drives and just call CD ripper multiple times, you end up slowing down the whole process to the point of probably eliminating your advantage of using 2 CD drives. Use the Batch Ripper instead.

  11. #11
    dBpoweramp Guru
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    1,175

    Re: How to rip thousands of cds?

    Quote Originally Posted by LtData View Post
    I mean that if you have multiple CD drives and just call CD ripper multiple times, you end up slowing down the whole process to the point of probably eliminating your advantage of using 2 CD drives. Use the Batch Ripper instead.
    LtData - I suspect this isn't the case, at least, not in a major way. The batch ripper itself does this, launching multiple cdgrab.exe processes, hidden from view, one per drive.

    Manually running the cdgrab.exe's is almost the same but with less automation. You just have to watch to make sure that each cdgrab doesn't start looking at a different (wrong) drive on CD insert/eject, as they are wont to do. Or rather, when one does this, you must manually switching the drive letter back...and you will end up doing this a lot.

    If you don't catch it, this can lead to two cdgrab.exe's trying to rip from the same CD drive at the same drive...if you aren't careful before you click the Rip button. That certainly would decrease throughput...

    The batch ripper avoids this as it technically runs one cdgrab.exe per *CD*, each one told to exit after a CD finishes ripping, so it doesn't wait around, dejected, cd-less, looking for another CD friend to play with. Also, when the cdgrab.exe launched, the drive is already loaded with a spun up CD and the passed parameters force the cdgrab.exe to look at a specific drive. So, with the batch ripper, there's no chance of the cdgrab.exe getting distracted by other drives.

    -brendan
    Last edited by bhoar; 08-23-2008 at 11:48 AM.

  12. #12

    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    13

    Re: How to rip thousands of cds?

    Quote Originally Posted by LtData View Post
    I mean that if you have multiple CD drives and just call CD ripper multiple times, you end up slowing down the whole process to the point of probably eliminating your advantage of using 2 CD drives. Use the Batch Ripper instead.
    K, you scared me for a sec

    NoMo
    Last edited by NoMo; 08-24-2008 at 02:36 AM.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •