title
Products            Buy            Support Forum            Professional            About            Codec Central
 
Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 366

Thread: Discussion of Automated CD Loaders

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
  1. #1
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    39,492

    Discussion of Automated CD Loaders

    (for implemetation into dBpoweramp Batch Ripper).

    Here is the place to mention the automated loader you have, and any known technical details on driving the loader.

  2. #2
    dBpoweramp Guru
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    1,175

    Re: Discussion of Automated CD Loaders

    Spoon - I'm curious which loaders you are currently testing with.

    -brendan

  3. #3
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    39,492

    Re: Discussion of Automated CD Loaders

    It is our aim to support the latest models from:

    Primera
    MF Digital
    RImage
    R-Quest

  4. #4
    dBpoweramp Guru
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    1,176

    Re: Discussion of Automated CD Loaders

    Can anyone suggest a small/cheap robot that you can but your own drive (Plextor) in?

  5. #5
    dBpoweramp Guru
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    1,175

    Re: Discussion of Automated CD Loaders

    Quote Originally Posted by EliC
    Can anyone suggest a small/cheap robot that you can but your own drive (Plextor) in?
    Note: comments below are completely ignorant about what robots and itnerfaces Spoon plans to implement.

    The standard answer to this would be:

    1. An MF-Digital Baxter (or the same unit by different vendors: Acronova Dupliq, Discmakers Pico, etc.). Holds 25 discs. Available retail for ~$600-$800 depending. Controlled using SDK which communicates with robot via USB (not serial). Drive is accessed via USB bridge, which can be unreliable (Prolific PL-2506?)

    2. Primera Bravo SE DiscPublisher. Holds 20 discs, has built in disc printer. Available online for ~$1500. Do not confuse with the AutoPrinter, ~$1000, which does not come with a drive (and may be blocked from a custom installation work with one). Unsure of interface.

    If you hadn't required the ability to swap drives, the answer to this would be:

    1. A Sony VAIO XL1B1/XL1B2/XL1B3 200-disc changer. Granted, not really a robot, but they're priced better. The firewire control connection requires use of Windows Media Center, mtx command line client (a windows port is available), or custom "scsi" level calls. $150-$350, depending on where you find it. These are, essentially, re-badged Powerfile units with only a single non-swappable drive.

    My approach is to scour ebay. Target your prices < $200 before shipping.

    1. The primera composers (do not buy a conductor, it cannot easily be converted to use a drive) often go for very cheap and are serial controlled.

    2. The RImage/Cedar DTP-1000 and DTP-4000 are often sold super cheap, but most are SCSI controlled. Before they EOL'd them, they were selling them for a short time with a firewire/serial interface instead (just like the replacement DTP-1500 and DTP-4500 units) with the addition of four internal firewire->atapi bridges. I verified (today) that the robot control board is the same, they just hooked up an unused serial port and disconnected the scsi port. Unfortunately, more investigation is needed with an older unit to know if there is a significant firmware change that allows for the serial control or if it the serial control always works and a "user-initiated" extension of the serial port would work for the scsi units.

    Three cautions:

    1. Warranty - some new unit warranties don't allow drive swaps without violating them.

    2. Tray extension - make sure that any drive you plan to use inside a robot has a tray that pushes the "disc circle" out significantly clear of the drive faceplate. With the move to smaller form factor 5.25" optical drive housings, the trays often have a circle that doesn't clear the faceplate. Some drives will work with the faceplate removed, but some disc circles hardly even clear the casing, let alone the faceplate these days.

    3. Retention clips - some tray circles have little nibs or clips meant to keep the disc from relocating off center and these would have to be removed (shaved or cut) for robot use.
    Last edited by bhoar; 07-27-2007 at 02:42 PM.

  6. #6

    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    1

    Re: Discussion of Automated CD Loaders

    Quote Originally Posted by Spoon View Post
    It is our aim to support the latest models from:

    Primera
    MF Digital
    RImage
    R-Quest
    hello
    we have media thecnics fusion-mx X5.1a
    we already contact B. HOAR and get from him -generic big loader rev 2
    we use com 1 comspeed 38400
    dBpoweramp reference R13 and Batch Ripper work if we select 1 drive.

    If we select 2 or 3 or 4 drives the robot get crazy :
    "Pre-Batch.exe meets a problem ..... send a error message ? "
    then drive 1 is locked on Pre-Batch
    and the robot tries to reject a CD which is not in the a drive 2
    waiting a few seconds, we get "problem on com1 ... shutting down"

    We know we are administrator and cd clone has been uninstall (5 october 20008).

    What can we do?
    - reinstall windows and all stuff
    - use an external computer intel, instead of ASUS internal mother board
    of robot with AMD Athlon 64 X2 ?
    - try to modify generic big loader drivers ?
    -

    We would love to work with dBpa but today it is not possible.

    Thanks in advance for your help. May be it is a small mistake.

    X-O

  7. #7
    dBpoweramp Guru
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    1,175

    Re: Discussion of Automated CD Loaders

    X-O: Please contact me via email for support. See my signature.

    -brendan

  8. #8

    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    10

    Re: Discussion of Automated CD Loaders

    I am very excite to know that Illustrate is going to the batch ripping business. There are only one or two companies doing it and we as a pro ripping service company are having difficulites to get quality software tools.
    Will AMG data be included in the pro ripping package? What will be the price for the meta data download?
    We have MfDigital pro rippers (300CDs) and we would like to offer free beta test for your software. Please let us know how to contact you to get a beta version.

  9. #9
    dBpoweramp Guru LtData's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    8,332

    Re: Discussion of Automated CD Loaders

    I believe since automated ripping is included with Reference, the same conditions apply: 1-year of AMG access is included with your purchase and each additional year is $5.

  10. #10

    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    10

    Re: Discussion of Automated CD Loaders

    That's great. Do you know when it will be released? Do you need beta testers?

  11. #11
    dBpoweramp Guru LtData's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    8,332

    Re: Discussion of Automated CD Loaders

    The Batch Ripper, which is what will do the automated CD ripping, is being discussed here: http://forum.dbpoweramp.com/showthread.php?t=13597 and has information regarding beta-testing. I know Spoon normally has Open beta testing for any user that wants to help. The post says about 8 weeks for the first beta.

  12. #12
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    39,492

    Re: Discussion of Automated CD Loaders

    We are in discussions again with MF Digital, see if we can get an SDK...

    It will be an open beta test here in 8 weeks.

  13. #13
    dBpoweramp Enthusiast
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    83

    Post Re: Discussion of Automated CD Loaders

    Hello,
    i need a Robotic Driver for my Rimage DTP 800 /RAS6 (FW+Serial)
    and a wire plan for serial cable.

    Thanks for your support!

  14. #14
    dBpoweramp Guru
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    1,175

    Re: Discussion of Automated CD Loaders

    Quote Originally Posted by sonyman View Post
    Hello,
    i need a Robotic Driver for my Rimage DTP 800 /RAS6 (FW+Serial)
    and a wire plan for serial cable.

    Thanks for your support!
    Can you point me to documentation on the command set for this unit (I suspect it may differ from the other DTP models)?

    I have a page for serial-based DTP units here:

    http://hyperdiscs.pbwiki.com/Command+Sets+--+RImage

    It assumes the DTP-800 works like the DTP-1000 and DTP-4000. Can you use hyperterminal to validate that info for me?


    -brendan
    Last edited by bhoar; 08-05-2008 at 09:07 AM.

  15. #15
    dBpoweramp Enthusiast
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    83

    Re: Discussion of Automated CD Loaders

    Dear Brendan,
    i have connetet the DTP 800 with my PC via Telnet.
    Only working setting is:9600 8n1 /none. Only one Command " I <Enter>" gives CC40828
    all others --> "IC"
    How can i reed the SW Version?

    Thanks Bastian

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •