title
Products            Buy            Support Forum            Professional            About            Codec Central
 
Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: r12 disappears upon launch

  1. #1

    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    22

    r12 disappears upon launch

    I donít know if this has been posted before, but when I launch dMC with other apps running, it shows up for a split second and then disappears. Minimizing the app running in the foreground makes dMC appear again. OS: WinXP SP2, build 2600.

  2. #2
    dBpoweramp Guru LtData's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    8,333

    Re: r12 disappears upon launch

    Update to r12.1 at the link below if you are using a Registered version of the PowerPack or the free version, or use the Registered Link retrieval to get a new registered install of Reference.

  3. #3

    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    22

    Re: r12 disappears upon launch

    Installed r12.1, and am having the same problem with it.

  4. #4
    dBpoweramp Guru xoas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Durham, NC
    Posts
    2,671

    Re: r12 disappears upon launch

    What other apps do you have running? What is your processor speed and RAM?

  5. #5

    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    22

    Re: r12 disappears upon launch

    Outlook, Word, Excel, IE. 3 GHz Pentium 4. 2GB RAM.

  6. #6
    dBpoweramp Guru xoas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Durham, NC
    Posts
    2,671

    Re: r12 disappears upon launch

    Does it minimize to the task bar menu on the bottom?
    I found that opening CD Ripper with Word open does this but it is very easily called up by clicking on the taskbar.

    I find this a little surprising (opening dMC to convert existing files does NOT behave in this manner, for example and I have not known CD Ripper to perform in this matter.

    On the other hand, it is no big inconvenience (although it would be if I could not call it up from the taskbar) for me. If you cannot access from the taskbar, please let us know.

    Best wishes,
    Bill

  7. #7
    dBpoweramp Guru LtData's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    8,333

    Re: r12 disappears upon launch

    Try right-clicking the taskbar icon and clicking Restore, or try right-clicking the taskbar icon and clicking "Move" then use the arrow keys to move the window to make sure it is visible.

  8. #8

    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    22

    Re: r12 disappears upon launch

    Quote Originally Posted by xoas
    Does it minimize to the task bar menu on the bottom?
    Bill,
    It does not minimize to the task bar menu initially (happened to me again just now). It (the CD Ripper, anyway) just appears for a split second after being launched, then disappears without any visual trace at all, except an All Music Guide logo that sticks around for a few seconds (like the Cheshire cat's smile) before fading. If I minimize the app in front, the Ripper reappears, both the main window and on the task bar menu, which continues to display properly from that point on.

    It's not a big inconvenience and is easy to work around. Just doing my bug reporting duty.

  9. #9
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    41,970

    Re: r12 disappears upon launch

    >If I minimize the app in front

    Sorry which app is this?

  10. #10

    Re: r12 disappears upon launch

    I am having this issue with the Batch Music Converter. Once the conversion process begins, the window disappears and the taskbar shows the process running with a changing percentage until it displays [Finished].

    My only option is to close the program using the right click.

    This is using dMC 12.1 (verified by going into Configuration Manager) on Windows XP.

    I saw the forum message about this bug being fixed in 12.1, but I already have 12.1. I thought that perhaps there was a newer build, so I downloaded the local mirror:

    http://www.dbpoweramp.com/bin/dMC-r12.1.exe

    and it comes up and reports that the version currently installed is 12.1. I didn't want to brick the installation so I didn't re-install, as I was unsure whether doing so would clear my registration info.

  11. #11
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    41,970

    Re: r12 disappears upon launch

    The next R12.2 beta (or full release) will have further fixes on this.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •