title
Products            Buy            Support Forum            Professional            About            Codec Central
 
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 37

Thread: DirectShow Decoder (rm, ac3)

  1. #1
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    39,396

    DirectShow Decoder (rm, ac3)

    First release for R12:

    <released>

    222KB

    DirectShow is used by Windows Media Player, filters are installed allowing Media Player to decode audio files it would not normally be able to decode.

    ==============

    See the Real Audio and AC3 page in Codec Central, install the correct filters first before installing this dBpoweramp codec.
    Last edited by Spoon; 09-08-2007 at 05:08 PM.

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    39,396

    Re: DirectShow Decoder (audible, rm, ac3)

    I am interested to hear if the autodetection of directshow filter extensions (ie .rm) does not work for any filters.

  3. #3

    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    11

    Re: DirectShow Decoder (audible, rm, ac3)

    OK I installed the directshow filter and ran the config program.

    I need it for converting Audible files (.aa)

    I ran the dbpoweramp config program after installing the directshow filter and it shows:

    DirectShow Decoder
    .flac, .mka, .mkv, .oga, .ogg, .ogm, .ogv, .ra, .ram, .rm, .rmvb, .spx, .ts

    but no .aa

    I checked this by rightclicking on an .aa file and it doesn't show the "convert to.." option

    I read the help file for the filter and it says you can manually add an extension by doing this:

    If a new DirectShow filter is added, or an audio type is missing it is possible to manually add extensions, select Start >> Run (for Vista: Windows Key + R), type:

    %appdata%\dbpoweramp


    But when I run that I get an error message that says "Cannot open C:\documents file does not exist"

    I tried to edit a directshow.txt file and put .aa in it but I have no idea where to place it. I put it in C:\Program Files\Illustrate\dBpowerAMP and that did not work. So I tried putting it in C:\Program Files\Illustrate\dBpowerAMP\decoder and in C:\Program Files\Illustrate\dBpowerAMP\encoder (where the directshow.dll file is, but that did not work either.

  4. #4
    dBpoweramp Guru LtData's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    8,332

    Re: DirectShow Decoder (audible, rm, ac3)

    Did you install the Audible Manager and follow the instructions you were instructed to read? See here: http://forum.dbpoweramp.com/showthre...4575*post44575

  5. #5

    Re: DirectShow Decoder (audible, rm, ac3)

    Quote Originally Posted by LtData
    Did you install the Audible Manager and follow the instructions you were instructed to read? See here: http://forum.dbpoweramp.com/showthre...4575*post44575
    Hello all,

    I'm trying to convert Audible (.aa) files and have followed the above instructions. I cannot find any "directshow" file to add the .aa extension. Would someone be so kind as to direct me to the proper technique for acomplishing this?

    Thanks

    Whit

  6. #6
    dBpoweramp Guru LtData's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    8,332

    Re: DirectShow Decoder (audible, rm, ac3)

    Aha, that explains it. When you run the command Spoon mentions, "%appdata%\dbpoweramp", you are taken to the folder in your Application Data folder that has the directshow.txt file.

  7. #7

    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    11

    Re: DirectShow Decoder (audible, rm, ac3)

    Quote Originally Posted by LtData
    Did you install the Audible Manager and follow the instructions you were instructed to read? See here: http://forum.dbpoweramp.com/showthre...4575*post44575
    Yeah, windows media player can play the .aa files just fine.

    There is just no "convert to" option on the context menu when I click on .aa files for me to convert with dbpoweramp.

    When I try running: "%appdata%\dbpoweramp" from the start menu

    I get an error message that says "Cannot open C:\documents file does not exist"

    there is no folder called "documents" on my C: drive root.

    looks like %appdata% is not properly defined. Where is it supposed to be opening up?

    (using windows XP sp2)


    --
    PS: I was able to convert the .aa files just fine with the R11 version of dmc and the r11 version of directshow filter. I also uninstalled all previous versions and codecs related to R11 of DMC before installing R12 and the R12 directshow filter.
    Last edited by JohnSparks; 03-08-2007 at 03:33 PM.

  8. #8
    dBpoweramp Guru LtData's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    8,332

    Re: DirectShow Decoder (audible, rm, ac3)

    Interesting. OK, the long way is "C:\Documents and Settings\<username>\Application Data\dBpoweramp" where <username> is your current username on the computer.

    Edit: To clarify, %appdata% is supposed to go to "C:\Documents and Settings\<username>\Application Data\"
    Also, you do have a folder called "Documents and Settings" on your C:\ drive, right?
    Last edited by LtData; 03-08-2007 at 03:37 PM.

  9. #9
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    39,396

    Re: DirectShow Decoder (audible, rm, ac3)

    Select Start >> Run and type:

    cmd

    then type:

    %appdata%

    what is shown on the screen?

  10. #10

    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    11

    Re: DirectShow Decoder (audible, rm, ac3)

    Quote Originally Posted by Spoon
    Select Start >> Run and type:

    cmd

    then type:

    %appdata%

    what is shown on the screen?
    If I type %appdata% by itself it seems to work, and takes me to
    C:\Documents and Settings\John.VIDEO\Application Data

    But if I tag on \dbpoweramp at the end it wants to open C:\documents. I just tried this at work and I am getting the same thing happen. two different computers.

    I think I know the problem. There IS no folder called dbpoweramp under my app data folder! If I create one, then it takes me to it fine.

    Apparently installing the dbpoweramp R12 does not create an app folder.
    bug?

  11. #11
    dBpoweramp Guru LtData's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    8,332

    Re: DirectShow Decoder (audible, rm, ac3)

    The folder should be created by installing the DirectShow Decoder or by ripping a CD. Try looking under C:\Documents and Settings\ and see if there are any other folders that dMC could have put the file in by mistake, mabye?

  12. #12

    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    11

    Re: DirectShow Decoder (audible, rm, ac3)

    Quote Originally Posted by LtData
    The folder should be created by installing the DirectShow Decoder or by ripping a CD. Try looking under C:\Documents and Settings\ and see if there are any other folders that dMC could have put the file in by mistake, mabye?
    The folder did not exist anywhere under my C:\documents and settings\

    So I created the folder where it was supposed to be, put in a text file called directshow.txt and put .aa in it. Ran the dmc configuration tool.

    Now everything works fine. It converts my .aa files and when I hover my mouse over them dmc pops up the tooltip to show the info on the file.

    Only bugs I saw was
    1. When I moved my mouse pointer over the file to get the tooltip, that stupid audible chapter window kept appearing.

    2. When I tried to cancel a conversion halfway through, it stopped converting, but the dialog window would not go away. I kept trying to close the window and it kept asking me to cancel or continue and no matter what I did it just went back to the window. It did stop converting though. looked like it was paused. I had to kill it with the task manager.

  13. #13

    Re: DirectShow Decoder (audible, rm, ac3)

    I had to go to "%appdata%" and manually create a DBpoweramp dir, then make a directshow.txt file containing only ".ac3". After that, it worked.

  14. #14
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    39,396

    Re: DirectShow Decoder (audible, rm, ac3)

    Updated 20th May: bug fix: high frequency audio files might not be read / written with correct frequency.

    Better creation of the default file

    Should now handle 6 channel files (tried with AC3 decoder)

  15. #15

    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    1

    Re: DirectShow Decoder (rm, ac3)

    i tried version 12 and it says codec not installed. i tried 11.5 and it says codec is not installed or direct show is not installed or audio file is corrupt.

    how can i do this? i have windows vista.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •