title
Products            Buy            Support Forum            Professional            About            Codec Central
 
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: File too big

  1. #1

    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    1

    File too big

    I converted an audio book to MP3. The book is 5 hours long. Is there an option to choose to continue to the next cd? Right now, it just stops.

  2. #2
    dBpoweramp Guru LtData's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    8,332

    Re: File too big

    If you mean split the file up, yes. There is a Splitter Utility codec that splits files based on length or silence. Its in Codec Central at the bottom of the page.

  3. #3
    GiacomoGo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Basel
    Posts
    46

    Re: File too big

    Quote Originally Posted by LtData
    If you mean split the file up, yes. There is a Splitter Utility codec that splits files based on length or silence. Its in Codec Central at the bottom of the page.
    I am unable to split based on "silence", only length shows up as an option. Does the "silence" approach require something hidden or otherwise special?

  4. #4
    dBpoweramp Guru ChristinaS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    4,097

    Re: File too big

    The silence split seems not to be available there. That's in dMC Auxiliary Input AFAIK.

  5. #5

    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    2

    Re: File too big

    Quote Originally Posted by LtData
    If you mean split the file up, yes. There is a Splitter Utility codec that splits files based on length or silence. Its in Codec Central at the bottom of the page.
    Is there a "how-to" for the splitter utility. I've downloaded and installed, but I don't know the first thing about getting it to work.

  6. #6
    dBpoweramp Guru LtData's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    8,332

    Re: File too big

    There might be a help file that was installed, check in the Start Menu Programs folder for dMC under Help --> Codecs

  7. #7

    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    2

    Re: File too big

    No, there wasn't one installed for the splitter. I've got some other ones in there, but none for the utility splitter.

  8. #8
    GiacomoGo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Basel
    Posts
    46

    Re: File too big

    Quote Originally Posted by Loompa17
    No, there wasn't one installed for the splitter. I've got some other ones in there, but none for the utility splitter.
    It didn't install any help file for me, either.
    This sounds like a useful utility, but the "silence" detection is apparently just vapor-ware at this point.

    Any chance of a real silence-splitter utility?

  9. #9
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    38,793

    Re: File too big

    Not for a while (ie after Music Converter R12).

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •