title
Products            Buy            Support Forum            Professional            About            Codec Central
 
Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 52

Thread: Problem converting FLAC to AAC

  1. #1

    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    25

    Problem converting FLAC to AAC

    Hello

    I hope that someone could help me resolve this issue. I am trying to convert the following song and this is the error message I get:

    The CODEC required to compress 'D:\MP3\Elton John\Elton John - Goodbye Yellow Brick Road\Elton John - Goodbye Yellow Brick Road [MFSL Ultradisc; Japan] - 01 - Funeral for a Friend , Love Lies Bleeding.m4a' could not be opened.

    Unable to run encoder 'C:\Program Files\Illustrate\dBpowerAMP\Compression\m4a (FAAC CLI)\faac.exe'


    I have downloaded the encoder and uninstalled and reinstalled. I still get the same error.

    Is anyone able to shed some light on this? I have no problem converting the song to mp3, but would prefer not to.

    Thank you

  2. #2
    dBpoweramp Guru ChristinaS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    4,097

    Re: Problem converting FLAC to AAC

    Is this what you downloaded?
    AAC to mp4 & mp4 to AAC


    Description Moves aac audio files in or out of a .mp4 container, without loss to audio quality.

    Download AAC to mp4 & mp4 to AAC 347 KB Version Release 1

  3. #3

    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    25

    Re: Problem converting FLAC to AAC

    Quote Originally Posted by ChristinaS
    Is this what you downloaded?
    Hello Christina

    Yes....that is the one I most recently downloaded and installed.

  4. #4
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    38,909

    Re: Problem converting FLAC to AAC

    Click the locate button and make sure it points to the correct encoder.

  5. #5

    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    25

    Re: Problem converting FLAC to AAC

    It seems also that the whole decoder/encoder is not working, I am unable to convert to aac from any file type, the error message is basically the same.

    The CODEC required to compress:
    Funeral for a Friend , Love Lies Bleeding.aac' could not be opened.

    Unable to run encoder
    'C:\Program Files\Illustrate\dBpowerAMP\Compression\Advanced Audio Coding (CLI)\faac.exe'

    The CODEC required to compress:
    Captain Fantastic and the Brown Dirt Cowboy.aac' could not be opened.

    Unable to run encoder
    'C:\Program Files\Illustrate\dBpowerAMP\Compression\Advanced Audio Coding (CLI)\faac.exe'

  6. #6

    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    25

    Re: Problem converting FLAC to AAC

    Quote Originally Posted by Spoon
    Click the locate button and make sure it points to the correct encoder.
    The locate button shows it to be in the directory

    C:\Program Files\Illustrate\dBpowerAMP\Compression\Advanced Audio Coding (CLI)\faac.exe

    Should I just uninstall and reinstall?

  7. #7
    dBpoweramp Guru LtData's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    8,332

    Re: Problem converting FLAC to AAC

    Is that the directory you installed the codec and dMC to?

    Also, if your wanting to encode to mp4 or AAC from another format, you need to download the codec for it here: http://www.dbpoweramp.com/codec-central-mp4.htm. The top codec is needed for decoding any mp4/m4a or AAC files and for encoding to mp4/m4a. The codec that is the second from the bottom is for encoding to AAC.

    The codec ChristinaS mentioned is just for putting a mp4/m4a file in an AAC container for playing on players such as the iPod.

  8. #8

    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    25

    Re: Problem converting FLAC to AAC

    I think I am explaining myself badly so I'll show you what I mean:











    The locations of the various encoders/decoders are as below:



    The error message remains the same:

    The CODEC required to compress ******could not be opened.
    Unable to run encoder 'C:\Program Files\Illustrate\dBpowerAMP\faac.exe'

  9. #9
    dBpoweramp Guru ChristinaS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    4,097

    Re: Problem converting FLAC to AAC

    Do you have iTunes installed?

  10. #10

    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    25

    Re: Problem converting FLAC to AAC

    iTunes version 6.3.0.5 on Winxp SP2.

    Have not installed 6.4 as yet.
    Last edited by redphyve; 03-05-2006 at 03:14 PM.

  11. #11
    dBpoweramp Guru LtData's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    8,332

    Re: Problem converting FLAC to AAC

    The problem may be that the iTunes encoder doesn't work with iTunes 6.x. Have you tried installing iTunes 5?

  12. #12

    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    25

    Re: Problem converting FLAC to AAC

    That could be the case as it worked fine previously.

    What I have found to work is to use the Nero plug-in.

    So, being a newbie to these forums, how would I find out if the AAC plug-in is updated to work with iTunes 6?

    Thanks to everyone thus far who has responded. It helps to know you have fallback options.

  13. #13

    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    25

    Re: Problem converting FLAC to AAC

    Quote Originally Posted by redphyve
    That could be the case as it worked fine previously.

    What I have found to work is to use the Nero plug-in.

    So, being a newbie to these forums, how would I find out if the AAC plug-in is updated to work with iTunes 6?

    Thanks to everyone thus far who has responded. It helps to know you have fallback options.

    After some extensive reading of these and other forums, it appears that to use the aac plug-in I would need to use a new user account with iTunes 5.

    If so:
    1. Would iTunes 5 then play the content purchased with 6, as since installing iTunes 6, I have acquired 2 more iPods and have purchased about 300+ songs using iTunes 6.

    2. Or am I locked into iTunes 6 now and forever?

    3.Does this also mean I can only convert flac and ogg to wma and then let iTunes convert to aac?

    God I'm confusing myself here! I hope all of you understand me!

  14. #14
    dBpoweramp Guru LtData's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    8,332

    Re: Problem converting FLAC to AAC

    I believe iTunes 5 will play iTunes 6 songs, yes. However, for your account you HAVE to use iTunes 6 for purchases after you purchase one song with iTunes 6. You could just make a new account, of course.

    If your wanting to use your AAC files on your iPod, why not get the top m4a codec and just encode to mp4/m4a?

  15. #15

    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    25

    Re: Problem converting FLAC to AAC

    Now nothing works...

    Anything to do with converting to and from mp4 files is toast, just does the same message.

    unable to run encoder
    'C:\Program Files\Illustrate\dBpowerAMP\Compression\Apple Lossless (iTunes)\iTunesEncode.exe'

    The CODEC required to compress 'C:\Download\\Will Smith-Switch.aac' could not be opened.
    Unable to run encoder 'C:\Program Files\Illustrate\dBpowerAMP\faac.exe'

    The CODEC required to compress 'C:\Download\ Will Smith-Switch.m4a.TEMP.m4a' could not be opened.

    Unable to run encoder 'C:\Program Files\Illustrate\dBpowerAMP\Compression\m4a (FAAC CLI)\faac.exe'

    I'm ata loss to explain these multiple failure...I can still encode decode to other formats but this is getting weird.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •