PDA

View Full Version : Convert CD to MP3 Pro



fishingsteve
07-23-2005, 05:54 PM
I have just purchased an MP3 player that can play MP3 Pro files. I have just installed release 11 but can't see a setting to rip as MP3 Pro only have MP3 Lame. Can anyone hlep me in finding a way to do this?

Thanks
Steve

LtData
07-23-2005, 06:03 PM
http://www.dbpoweramp.com/codec-central-mp3pro.htm
Instructions are there. Follow them explicitly.

fishingsteve
07-23-2005, 06:35 PM
Thanks for that.
Have coverted one MP3 tp MP3Pro OK but when trying to RIP from CD to MP3Pro it failed for some reason but tried it on another track off same CD and it seems to have worked.
Is there any loss of sound quality on MP3Pro compared to MP3 Lame?

Thanks
Steve

GSV3MiaC
07-23-2005, 06:45 PM
Compared to MP3 Lame at what bit rate, using what parameters?? ... Oh and loss of quality measured with which speakers and whose ears?? :p

The only way you can tell for sure is to turn the samples both back into .wav and then compare them under whatever conditions you care about using something like WinABX (google for it). 9/10 listeners can't tell the difference between .... nah, go try it yourself.

LtData
07-23-2005, 10:54 PM
Oh don't get me started on mp3PRO. Its designed explicitly for low-bitrate situations. Frankly, you should go with 128kbps or higher mp3.

fishingsteve
07-24-2005, 05:47 AM
So basically you are saying don't bother with Pro? I haven't got the player yet so will check out the quality. It supports ID tag and lyrics or whatever it's called, does that mean I can see the song title etc when scrolling through the tracks?
If so, how do you create the ID tag etc? Is it there by default if I rip from CD, or how about if I download MP3 off internet?

My old MP3 player just tells me track number and it's a real pain having to scroll through every track to test which one I want.

Thanks
Steve

LtData
07-24-2005, 07:45 AM
dMC's Audio CD Input will automatically write the tags when you rip a CD. As for downloaded mp3s, they may or may not have tags.

And as for bothering with pro, rip some various tracks to mp3PRO and to regular mp3 and compare them. Note that you need a player on your computer that supports decoding mp3PRO, otherwise it will sound horrible. The reason I say to avoid mp3PRO is that it is basically a dead format. Very few players support it and that probably won't change.

fishingsteve
07-24-2005, 08:51 AM
Thanks for all your info.
I have downloaded and paid for the Power Pack on dMC and that now allows me to edit the files with no or wrong tags.
I will leave the MP3Pro for a while and investigate the quality issue when I get time.

Cheers
Steve