PDA

View Full Version : CD to MP4 slow



MrVideo
07-14-2005, 01:17 AM
Win2K - 1GHz

dMC from a CD can extract a track pretty damn quick. Yet, when it comes to converting the WAVe file to MP4, it seems to take forever. A full CD wants to take about an hour. Why?

Spoon
07-14-2005, 03:06 PM
Running any DSP effects?

MrVideo
07-14-2005, 06:25 PM
Running any DSP effects?

There isn't even an option to do any. I select MP4. At that point, I can only select the bitrate that I want and if I want to normalize the volume, which I do not have checked.

If there is a place to set DSP options, I have no idea where it is.

LtData
07-14-2005, 06:42 PM
To check for DSP effects, the window where you select the bitrate and destination, click the "PowerPack DSP" button and make sure the left-side window is empty.

MrVideo
07-14-2005, 07:40 PM
To check for DSP effects, the window where you select the bitrate and destination, click the "PowerPack DSP" button and make sure the left-side window is empty.

Sorry, no such thing. When I select MP4, all I get is a pulldown list of available bitrates.

See http://vidiot.com/dbpoweramp-1.jpg

LtData
07-14-2005, 08:17 PM
I assume your using Audio CD Input then. Try clicking "Rip with Options" and then you should see what I am referring to.
Btw, your image isn't loading.

MrVideo
07-14-2005, 08:46 PM
I assume your using Audio CD Input then. Try clicking "Rip with Options" and then you should see what I am referring to.

Correct. I always do the "Rip with Options" and it is not there.


Btw, your image isn't loading.

I can e-mail it to you if you desire. Let me know where.

There is something extremely weird going on with my Red Hat 7.1 Linux server. The problem appears to be getting worse. There are some places that I can't get to with it either. Others are having trouble getting to my server, yet it is operational. I have a new Linux server that I am slowly bringing up, which is currently attached to my internal LAN, but goes through the current server to get to the outside, so it uses the same ethernet card that is attached to the outside world. The current server has trouble, yet the WindBlows boxes and new FedoraCore Linux box have no trouble. It is extremely weird.

I need to upgrade it to FedorcaCore 4 and then bring the servers down for a weekend and get the new box on line.

Spoon
07-15-2005, 02:14 PM
When ripping do you get the priority setting? if so set it 'below normal', also use 'Rip to Ram' if you have that and install the latest R11.5 rc2 beta as it speeds things up.

MrVideo
07-15-2005, 11:01 PM
When ripping do you get the priority setting? if so set it 'below normal', also use 'Rip to Ram' if you have that and install the latest R11.5 rc2 beta as it speeds things up.

Do not see a priority setting, nor a "Rip to Ram" option. I'm confused. Things have been mentioned that I should be seeing, yet I don't. Why?

In any event, I installed the version and it is definately a lot faster.

Confused but happy.

Thanks.

LtData
07-15-2005, 11:28 PM
Has your PowerPack trial expred? Check dMC Configuration to see if it has (Start --> Programs --> dBpowerAMP Music Converter --> Configuration --> dMC Configuration). Since your missing the DSP button, the "Rip to RAM" option, and the priority box, it sounds like your trial has expired, as these are PowerPack-only functions.

ChristinaS
07-16-2005, 12:04 AM
The priority of conversion setting is visible in the litle green window during the actual conversion step.

The rip-to-ram option is part of the powerpack. If you have an expired trial version of dMC, all the powerpack featuers, as well as the license for the mp3 encoder are no longer available.

MrVideo
07-16-2005, 01:05 AM
Has your PowerPack trial expred? Check dMC Configuration to see if it has (Start --> Programs --> dBpowerAMP Music Converter --> Configuration --> dMC Configuration). Since your missing the DSP button, the "Rip to RAM" option, and the priority box, it sounds like your trial has expired, as these are PowerPack-only functions.

I know that it has expired. It was part of the report shown when I installed the beta dMC version. I'll never be using any DSP functions as I want 1-to-1 conversions without manipulating any of the data.

Thanks for everyone's help.

Spoon
07-16-2005, 05:56 AM
Try ripping the CD to wave files, then convet those wave files to mp4, if it takes 1 hour to convert those wave files then that is how long it takes (but it does seem slow, a x1 encoding speed).

MrVideo
07-16-2005, 02:13 PM
Try ripping the CD to wave files, then convet those wave files to mp4, if it takes 1 hour to convert those wave files then that is how long it takes (but it does seem slow, a x1 encoding speed).

You may have missed it in my post *9, but after installing the beta that you mentioned, the encoding speed is much faster. For a full CD, it is <40 minutes. A vast improvement over the non-beta version.

Are there any plans to speed up the encoding even more?

LtData
07-16-2005, 02:27 PM
You taking that long to rip a CD is rather odd. Normally, a 1GHz machine should be able to rip a CD in less than 10-15 minutes.

And as Spoon asked, how long does it take to rip a CD to WAV? What is the average encoding speed. When you encode to mp4, what are your settings?

MrVideo
07-16-2005, 06:16 PM
And as Spoon asked, how long does it take to rip a CD to WAV? What is the average encoding speed. When you encode to mp4, what are your settings?

Unless I understand it wrong, if I rip to WAV first, I lose the info about the song when converting to MP4.

But, here is some timing info for a single song. The length of the first track on this particular CD is 3:40. Watching the access to the drive, the dMC created the temporary WAV file in 1:11. The total time to convert to MP4, including the WAV creation time, before it started on track 2, was 3:21.

The MP4 setting is 192 Kbps, no volume normalize.

But, the mp4 file is not going to the local hard drive, it is going to a remote mounted hard drive over a local 100Mbps LAN. Files < 1MB only take seconds to transfer, so that shouldn't be a cause.

The CD has 17 tracks, totaling 44:20. The total time to convert to mp4 was 37:42.

LtData
07-16-2005, 07:59 PM
How long does a local conversion to mp4 take?
The network transfer might explain some of the long conversion time.

MrVideo
07-16-2005, 09:29 PM
How long does a local conversion to mp4 take?
The network transfer might explain some of the long conversion time.

The point has become moot. Since I was not able to find a portable MP4 player with FM tuner support, i.e., since Jobs doesn't seem to believe in FM radio, none of the iPods have FM tuners. So I ended up getting a MP3 player, which you've responded to in a different thread.

Still don't know which driver to get (three different Jukebox driver choices).