PDA

View Full Version : total noob... Mp4 question

brisdog
04-27-2005, 07:58 PM
I am trying convert some files to Mp4... I downloaded the codec, but I do not see Mp4 as a choice in DBpoweramp converter.
Clue me in...( i did try to find the answer...honest...no luck.)

neilthecellist
04-27-2005, 08:46 PM
I am trying convert some files to Mp4... I downloaded the codec, but I do not see Mp4 as a choice in DBpoweramp converter.
http://forum.dbpoweramp.com/showthread.php?t=7583

ChristinaS
04-27-2005, 09:26 PM
Downloaded, yes, but did you also install whatever you downloaded?
Then of course, follow the other thread.

LtData
04-27-2005, 10:23 PM
And, as always, make sure you installed everything to the same directory. Does the mp4 codec show up in dMC Configuration? (Start --> Programs --> dbPowerAmp Music Converter --> Configuration --> dMC Configuration)

neilthecellist
04-27-2005, 10:58 PM
If it doesn't, reinstall. And if that doesn't work, tell us which codecs you downloaded, exactly.

brisdog
04-28-2005, 04:55 PM
thanks everyone... I will dig into it and see what I did!
I can't find the "configuration" folder.
Dbpoweramp shows up under "illustrate" in my program file... and there is no config file in there.
BD

LtData
04-28-2005, 06:01 PM
There isn't a config exe to use. What you have to do is run MusicConverter.exe with <config> tag. For instance, I installed dMC to C:\Program Files\dbpowerAmp so my shortcut is (note the use of quotes due to the space in "program files":
"C:\program files\dbPowerAmp\MusicConverter.exe" <config>
And the "Configuration" folder should be in the start menu folder.

brisdog
04-28-2005, 06:19 PM
thanks again for the help !
and pardon my "noobiness"
I found the codec..it was here:
C:\Program Files\Illustrate\dBpowerAMP\Compression
and it is called "m4a (FAAC CLI).dll"
is that the correct one??
apparently not many applications can "play" it.

LtData
04-28-2005, 06:26 PM