PDA

View Full Version : freedb and dMCScripting.dll

reven
12-12-2004, 04:44 PM
ive written a C* program that rips the audio tracks from a cd and converts them to mp3 using the dMCScripting dll. it works great, but freedb doesnt seem to work. i thought it was working since the first cd i tried had id3 tags in it. but no other cd is able to get this info, these cds are in freedb so the problem isnt there. i figured maybe the dMCScripting dll doesnt use freedb and just uses cdtext (i have little to no knowledge here, its a wild guess). i was just wondering if i could force it to look for the info from freedb, and cancel the rip if not found or something.

btw great program. im still a student at uni, so forgive my ignorance, and just trying to write a free plugin for a free PVR program (gbpvr).

Spoon
12-13-2004, 03:53 PM
You are right the scripting has no access to freedb, that is handled by Audio CD Input.

reven
12-13-2004, 05:13 PM
so the id3 tags, are just via cdtext if available?

is there anyway to grab the info from freedb via any available controls?

if theres not, its no biggie i have been able to grab the info myself, just have to write it to the mp3s afterwards. just wondering if i can remove a step or two.

also is there anyway to make it so the gui is not displayed? the plugin im writing is for a pvr program and many remotes require the pvr program window to have focus, which the gui removes (i return focus, but this is not always 100% (i let a thread sleep for awhile then force focus back to the pvr program, but if the gui takes longer than expected to be displayed, it steals focus again, and if i increase the wait time, the pvr program mightnt be able to have control for a longer time than needed. damned if you dont, damned if you do situation.)

Spoon
12-14-2004, 04:36 PM
After you start conversion you can FindWindow and minimize dMC.

reven
12-14-2004, 07:54 PM