PDA

View Full Version : converting m4a to mp3 trouble

elphillips
12-10-2004, 08:24 PM
I have an m4a file (it originally had the extension m3u, but i saved it in a way to where the extention is now m4a), and tried to use my dbpowerAMP Music Converter to convert it to mp3. When I got to the point where it asked me to enter the file, when I did, a box saying "Support for the audio type '.m4a' might be obtained at 'Codec Central', vist codec central now?" with Yes/No box choices. I clicked "yes," went to codec central and downloaded all the ones that seemed to support m4a files. But when I try to use the dbpowerAMP Music Converter again to convert the file, I still get the same message that I got above. I'm not sure what I'm doing wrong. I'm very new to this stuff (and just computer stupid), so please be gentle with me! ;)

ChristinaS
12-10-2004, 11:29 PM
I have an m4a file (it originally had the extension m3u, but i saved it in a way to where the extention is now m4a), and tried to use my dbpowerAMP Music Converter to convert it to mp3. When I got to the point where it asked me to enter the file, when I did, a box saying "Support for the audio type '.m4a' might be obtained at 'Codec Central', vist codec central now?" with Yes/No box choices. I clicked "yes," went to codec central and downloaded all the ones that seemed to support m4a files. But when I try to use the dbpowerAMP Music Converter again to convert the file, I still get the same message that I got above. I'm not sure what I'm doing wrong. I'm very new to this stuff (and just computer stupid), so please be gentle with me! ;)
A file that has the extension .m3u is simply a text file which contains the actual name(s) of the mp3 file(s) to be streamed. It is really just a playlist for mp3's.