PDA

View Full Version : Track order has gone alphabetical - help!!!



uncl_nigel
06-01-2019, 05:52 PM
I took delivery of a new streamer/DAC today and at some stage this evening the Asset software defaulted to alphabetical sorting of the tracks within an album. Normal order is defined by track number.

I have found nothing to twiddle with in "configure" - when in doubt I leave well alone.

- I am running Asset on a Mac
- the control app is dCS Mosaic (this is quite new so the previous dCS app is still available and it manifests the same problem)
- I have tried updating from 6.1 to 6.2 the problem remains
- with a different (and less attractive) server software package the problem does not exist "Goodbye Yellow Brick Road" starts with Funeral for a Friend as it should

How do I get the track order back?

Spoon
06-02-2019, 04:59 AM
Asset gives out in the order which is correct, however the control point can resort. You could try putting the track number into the track listing (option is called [track ] - [title] for album tracks, check this option).

uncl_nigel
06-02-2019, 05:42 AM
Asset gives out in the order which is correct, however the control point can resort. You could try putting the track number into the track listing (option is called [track ] - [title] for album tracks, check this option).

The option is checked the songs are displayed in the streamer app in the normal album order but played in alphabetical order of title - very annoying.

This does not happen with the other (rather "rustic") upnp server software I installed last night.

I would rather not change software but I am used to hearing songs in the order they have on the original media!

Spoon
06-02-2019, 12:34 PM
I do not know of any player which would display in one way, yet play in another order. Very strange.

uncl_nigel
06-04-2019, 02:46 AM
And extremely annoying!
I would rather not have to change software - I like Asset - but I need a solution

garym
06-04-2019, 02:58 PM
And extremely annoying!
I would rather not have to change software - I like Asset - but I need a solution

It seems it is not ASSET that is the issue, but your player. Does seem like an odd problem.