PDA

View Full Version : upgrade



fla-ts
07-13-2016, 02:06 AM
I have a registrated R15 version, how do I upgrade to R16, is this for free ?

Dat Ei
07-13-2016, 02:47 AM
Click! (https://forum.dbpoweramp.com/showthread.php?38203-dBpoweramp-R16-Windows)


Dat Ei

fla-ts
07-13-2016, 03:05 AM
I see that I have to pay 31 for the R16 ????

Spoon
07-13-2016, 03:16 AM
There is a 50% discount in upgrading major versions correct.

fla-ts
07-13-2016, 03:37 AM
I use the program only for ripping so is it usefull to upgrade ?
I also have a Nad M50 where I can rip cd's, only it takes a lot of time to use the Nad for ripping, it rips very slow.
If I find a cd-rip external drive of good quality I might use dbPoweramp again with flac lossless setting because I want the best possible sound.
It's not so easy to find a solid vibration-free device, any suggestions ?

Spoon
07-13-2016, 07:28 AM
There have been improvements to R16 CD Ripper, the functionality and inclusion of the new Discogs database.

See:

https://forum.dbpoweramp.com/showthread.php?37706-CD-DVD-Drive-Accuracy-List-2016

for good drives (not all are available), vibration is not an issue for computer ripping, only the end result.

fla-ts
07-13-2016, 08:28 AM
I understand that the end result is most important, but a device that vibrates is not reassuring,
it can possibly result that your digital to analog converter has to work harder because of data errors.
The list (link) you hereby give is very interesting, I will plan to start looking to buy one. Thank you for that.

Fernand

Dat Ei
07-13-2016, 08:50 AM
Hey Fernand,


I understand that the end result is most important, but a device that vibrates is not reassuring,
it can possibly result that your digital to analog converter has to work harder because of data errors.

ripping is a digital read out of the audio data. There is no D/A converter involved. At the end of a rip CD Ripper calculates a checksum over the audio data and compares this checksum with the checksums of the rips of other users. Due to the algorithm of calculating the checksum it is nearly impossible to have identical checksums for different data.


Dat Ei

fla-ts
07-13-2016, 09:15 AM
That's correct, the D / A converter comes only when playing the flac files.
Starting with a good CD drive + dBpoweramp can only come to the benefit to perform the calculations in the D/A converter.

Dat Ei
07-13-2016, 09:44 AM
As long as your rips are accurate, you can use a lousy CD drive sounding like a ship's engine. A good CD drive can increase the number of accurate (and fast) rips if your CDs are somewhat problematic (i.e. scratches, dirt, pressing).


Dat Ei

fla-ts
07-13-2016, 10:41 AM
Don't worry, all of my cd's are in perfect shape, i take good care of all of my music things

fla-ts
07-20-2016, 07:11 AM
I have upgrated to the newer version.
I have a few questions
- How can I setup so that "number of tracks" not into the tag
- Can I make my own genre list to make a choice before ripping

Spoon
07-21-2016, 05:11 PM
It is not possible to remove the track count (that I am aware of).

You can edit the genre list in:

%appdata%\dBpoweramp\genres.txt

fla-ts
07-22-2016, 01:47 AM
- I changed the genre list as you indicated, thank you for the information
- Avoid counting nummer of tracks, maybe an issue for upgrade

I purchased a new better external drive (LG BE16NU50) and already have ripped twenty discs.
I use the setting "uncompressed" in order to ensure the best possible quality.

I wonder why Nad and Bluesound don't use dbPoweramp with their equipment. I have a Nad M50 streamer and M51 dac , both known as one of the best at their price so you should expect they should use one of the best ripping tools on the market.

Dat Ei
07-22-2016, 02:29 AM
- Avoid counting nummer of tracks, maybe an issue for upgrade

Just to understand your request: why do you want no track numbers in your id tags?


Dat Ei

fla-ts
07-22-2016, 02:40 AM
Track numbers are no problem, that is okay. I'm talking about total number of tracks

Dat Ei
07-22-2016, 03:27 AM
Ok, I got it.


Track numbers are no problem, that is okay. I'm talking about total number of tracks

And why is the "total number of tracks" a problem for you?


Dat Ei

fla-ts
07-22-2016, 03:41 AM
It's not so much of a problem, it's just that i like clean tags that only contains "Album/Artist/Genre/Title/Track/Year" after ripping.
So don't worry bout it

fla-ts
12-09-2016, 09:51 AM
I must having a bad day today, wanted to change the genre list at the single version and also at the bath ripping version. Can't find the genre.txt
What do you mean by %appdata%. Can't find genres.txt anyhere at my computer

Spoon
12-09-2016, 10:51 AM
Open Windows file explorer (not internet explorer)

and into the address bar type

%appdata%

fla-ts
12-09-2016, 12:59 PM
Done, tooks a long while and find thousends of places with "appdata", is there a shorter way to find the specific genre file

mville
12-10-2016, 09:27 AM
Done, tooks a long while and find thousends of places with "appdata", is there a shorter way to find the specific genre file

type %appdata%\dBpoweramp\ in the address bar

fla-ts
12-11-2016, 01:44 AM
Super, that is the fastest way to find it, thanks mville, I'll beter save this one:1170