PDA

View Full Version : CD Ripping



Outlaw
09-27-2015, 02:24 PM
Have been ripping my CD collection with Cd Ripper.I have a couple of Cd'swhen I try to rip it is showing a different artist then the one that I'm trying to rip ?

mville
09-27-2015, 03:10 PM
Have been ripping my CD collection with Cd Ripper.I have a couple of Cd'swhen I try to rip it is showing a different artist then the one that I'm trying to rip ?

The metadata database has incorrect data for the CD. Do all 4 metadata providers show the incorrect artist? Which provider did you select?

Outlaw
09-27-2015, 03:15 PM
Just using setting were it uses multiple meta data suppliers at the same time.

mville
09-27-2015, 03:17 PM
Just using setting were it uses multiple meta data suppliers at the same time.

Did you click the Review Metadata button for a CD with the incorrect artist?

garym
09-27-2015, 04:51 PM
Did you click the Review Metadata button for a CD with the incorrect artist?

Good point. I've noticed that a lot of users don't seem to realize that they can click on the metadata button then see the page with all the different database sources. I've often found that one of the sources will have the correct information even though a couple may have incorrect info. Easy at that point to select the "correct" listing from that metadata screen.

Outlaw
09-27-2015, 05:28 PM
Thanks for the reply.Will try when I get home.

mville
09-27-2015, 07:21 PM
Thanks for the reply.Will try when I get home.

Take a look at this thread, it may also help:
https://forum.dbpoweramp.com/showthread.php?36671-CD-Ripper-Misread

Outlaw
09-28-2015, 02:28 PM
Still no luck

mville
09-28-2015, 02:36 PM
Still no luck

What happens when you click the Review Metadata button. Do you see info listed from all 4 metadata providers?

garym
09-28-2015, 02:37 PM
Still no luck

sometimes the data is just wrong in the databases and you have to manually enter the correct metadata.

Dat Ei
09-28-2015, 02:55 PM
Hey Gary,


sometimes the data is just wrong in the databases and you have to manually enter the correct metadata.

the data doesn't have to be wrong at all, because different CDs can produce the same key based on the TOC. This key doesn't have to be unique. Equal keys are unlikely, but not impossible.

So in that case it could be, that the metadata of one of those CDs is stored in the databae, while the metadata for the others are not.


Dat Ei

garym
09-28-2015, 03:02 PM
Hey Gary,



the data doesn't have to be wrong at all, because different CDs can produce the same key based on the TOC. This key doesn't have to be unique. Equal keys are unlikely, but not impossible.

So in that case it could be, that the metadata of one of those CDs is stored in the databae, while the metadata for the others are not.


Dat Ei

Interesting. I learn something new about this stuff every day!

Outlaw
09-28-2015, 03:13 PM
In review meta data showing 3 differenet ones that are all wrong

Outlaw
09-28-2015, 03:29 PM
How do you edit meta data ?

mville
09-28-2015, 03:50 PM
How do you edit meta data ?

Have a look at the Meta Data section here:
http://www.dbpoweramp.com/Help/dMC/CDhelp.htm

Personally, I use the Meta tab section (centre, bottom of main CDRipper window). Individual tags can be edited here.

Outlaw
09-28-2015, 03:59 PM
Appreciate the help and quick responses.

mville
09-28-2015, 04:51 PM
In review meta data showing 3 differenet ones that are all wrong

By the way, is the CD a rare/obscure release?