PDA

View Full Version : R15.1 Bug: Audio Properties and WMA>WMA conversion corrupts long Track string



chrisjj
10-06-2014, 06:54 PM
E.g.
Audio Properties
http://i.imgur.com/dSZrpaN.png http://i.imgur.com/BpVs4cj.png

Conversion
http://i.imgur.com/VjECcVi.png

Note: Track is stored as WM/TrackNumber, type WMT_TYPE_STRING
http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/windows/desktop/dd758006(v=vs.85).aspx

Spoon
10-07-2014, 04:18 AM
Track is the track number, ie 1/10, it should not be storing a value over 4 billion.

chrisjj
10-07-2014, 05:44 AM
WMA track number is a string and does not limit values to below 4 billion.

Spoon
10-07-2014, 06:34 AM
It does not make sense, it is like putting "The crazy brown fox, jumped over the lazy dog" as a year value, then saying it is a bug because it is not preserved during conversion. Internally we standardize tags, tags which are way outside of the standard are likely to not be preserved.

Putting a track number of > 4 billion, might even crash some players, because they not expect it.

chrisjj
10-07-2014, 07:11 AM
It does not make sense

Sure it makes sense. It is a track number.


, it is like putting "The crazy brown fox, jumped over the lazy dog" as a year value, then saying it is a bug because it is not preserved during conversion.

Not at all. "The crazy brown fox, jumped over the lazy dog" is not a valid year. 0000863720712012 is a valid track number.


Internally we standardize tags, tags which are way outside of the standard are likely to not be preserved.

This value is not way outside the standard for the format in question. As I said: Track is stored as WM/TrackNumber, type WMT_TYPE_STRING http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/libr...(v=vs.85).aspx

If you are restricted to some proprietary 'standard' that cannot handle the standards of the file formats and hence causes this corruption, then please declare it and its limitations.

Spoon
10-07-2014, 08:24 AM
If we had a WMA >> WMA only converter I would agree with you, however we do not.

I have never seen a track number as you describe, track number is there to indicate the position on a disc.

chrisjj
10-07-2014, 12:18 PM
If we had a WMA >> WMA only converter I would agree with you, however we do not.

dBpa WMA > FLAC suffers the same corruption: http://i.imgur.com/cVECenx.png


I have never seen a track number as you describe

Now you have. :)


, track number is there to indicate the position on a disc.

If dBpa was only for tracks ripped from CD, it surely would not support tracks number up to 1000000000. It does. Many users have gone beyond CDs.