PDA

View Full Version : Can I rip or conver to .ALAC file extension



RichB
10-04-2014, 04:14 PM
I have some files ripped to ALAC m4A which is a container not recognized by the Yamaha receiver.
HDTracks is delivering ALAC files with a .ALAC file extension.

What's the difference and can the files be stored in .alac files?

Thanks,

- Rich

Spoon
10-04-2014, 04:40 PM
We have never come across .alac files, it would be very silly for Yamaha not to read alac in its native m4a container, it is simply a header.

RichB
10-04-2014, 06:16 PM
We have never come across .alac files, it would be very silly for Yamaha not to read alac in its native m4a container, it is simply a header.

I am not sure why M4A's don't play via DLNA.

Check out HDTracks, they default to .alac, things seem to have changed with Apple made opened up their lossless compression.

- Rich

Spoon
10-05-2014, 06:55 AM
If it is DLNA, then it might be you UPnP server, rather than player. Try as a test to install Asset UPnP on your PC and see if can play the m4a (Apple lossless) files.