PDA

View Full Version : Problem installing MP2 codec

richroszel
09-22-2014, 06:18 PM
I have been using the R14 version of Batch Converter for several years with no problems. I just upgraded my computer, my OS and my dbPowerAmp. (I'm a slow adapter -- I just now moved from WinXP to Win7!)

Anyway, when I tried to install the MP2 codec -- something I need for one of my clients -- I got an error saying that it couldn't install because of a missing MSVCR100.dll file. Any idea what gives? The installer then says that the installation completed successfully, but when I try to convert to MP2, I get the same error again. Please help.

Incidentally, I'm trying to convert 16-bit, 44.1k WAV files to 192kbps MP2.

Thanks,

Rich Roszel

Spoon
09-22-2014, 07:14 PM
See:

http://social.technet.microsoft.com/Forums/windows/en-US/52f0bd37-9a08-41b6-bb43-fa01ef3ebc4a/msvcr100dll-is-missing

the 2nd msg down. Normally this dll comes with Windows.

richroszel
09-23-2014, 10:57 AM
Thanks for the reply, Spoon. I actually tried this fix already and it didn't seem to help. The next time I tried the MP2 conversion, I got the same message about that same .DLL file being "missing." What I failed to mention in the original post, which may play a big part here, is that my Win 7 installation is actually running within VMWare Fusion on a Mac. (To the best of my knowledge, there isn't a db PowerAmp for the Mac yet.) I have been using the software this way for years, but it was the R14 version running on WinXP. No problems whatsoever. I had to upgrade the Mac OS for other reasons. This required me to upgrade the version of VMWare Fusion. The newer version of Fusion was having problems with WinXP so I upgraded to Win 7 because I had a copy of it lying around. db PowerAmp R14 installed in Win 7 fine, but when the missing DLL file issue came up, I figured I'd better upgrade R14 to R15.1 and try again. And that brings us to where we are today.