PDA

View Full Version : Newbie here with question regarding my NAS drive..



Gavin Hadley
08-26-2014, 11:24 AM
I have a QNAP NAS drive on my local network. It's attached to a USB 3.0 hub and in the past when I click on "my computer" it would show up under "network". Now it doesn't show at all after repeated reboots, disconnecting and reconnecting etc. so no longer can I add FLAC files that I rip in dbpoweramp. It still shows up on my iPad when the Naim app n-Serve is selected. If anyone knows of a work around for this problem I would much appreciate your support. I just need a way to load my FLAC files on to the NAS drive . Thank you in advance!

Spoon
08-26-2014, 11:28 AM
You would not normally connect it to a USB hub, rather the network cable is the only connection you need.

Gavin Hadley
08-26-2014, 11:30 AM
Well darn it anyway. It's an ethernet hub not a USB hub....my bad. Now that I've straightened that out do you have a suggestion? Thanks and sorry for my ineptitude...not a power user obviously...thx.

BrodyBoy
08-26-2014, 08:36 PM
Well darn it anyway. It's an ethernet hub not a USB hub....my bad. Now that I've straightened that out do you have a suggestion? Thanks and sorry for my ineptitude...not a power user obviously...thx.

Perhaps network discovery got turned off somehow? Open the Windows "Network and Sharing Center," and click on "Change advanced aharing settings" in the left column. Ensure that the first option is checked on. If it is already on, I would next disable your firewall to see if that's the culprit.

PS: When you say "ethernet hub," are you talking about a switch, or is it wired directly to the router?