PDA

View Full Version : R1.6 AccurateRip Still Hanging



astromo
03-17-2014, 11:52 PM
R1.5 AccurateRip hangs at about 75% of the scan (http://forum.dbpoweramp.com/showthread.php?33265-R1-5-AccurateRip-hangs-at-about-75-of-the-scan)

Following on from R1.5, I'm getting AR hanging with R1.6 at pretty well the same spot for me.

I'd attach a diagnostic file but need some guidance as to where it lives, if one exists. Had a look at:

%appdata%\PerfectTUNES
but it didn't yield anything obvious.

209

Spoon
03-18-2014, 03:13 AM
Your audio is on a network share?

astromo
03-18-2014, 06:26 PM
Your audio is on a network share?

Can you define this for me so that we can be specific, please.

I take it that a "network share" is where the audio files are being accessed over a network. I've seen previous comment by yourself that the software works best with the audio files stored locally. This latter situation is the case at hand.

Thanks

astromo
03-18-2014, 11:42 PM
Gave R1.6 another go. Still the same deal of assessing files on the local HDD.

For a small number of files the software "listens" in step 1 then moves to step 2 where it checks the database against the AR database with no problem. I can get this to run successfully, I've been able to run the process for 200 tracks (or so) in one go. From that evidence, would it not be safe to dismiss the "network share" aspect as not relevant?

I've run PT again with my full collection (about 10,000 tracks) and it's still getting stuck at the same point. Task Manager indicates that PT is not presenting a resource load on the CPU. Refer attached screen shot.

I leave it open for a few more hours to see whether there's an advance or change in status. From this post:
http://forum.dbpoweramp.com/showthread.php?32990-How-Long
If 58,000 tracks took a little over 30 hours, then my collection should take around 5-6 hours. I would point out that R1 hasn't displayed this behaviour.

Let me know if there's any diagnostic file that I can send through.
214

Spoon
03-19-2014, 03:31 AM
You are saying that R1 did not hang, and R1.5 and R1.6 do?

astromo
03-19-2014, 06:23 AM
I leave it open for a few more hours to see whether there's an advance or change in status. From this post:
http://forum.dbpoweramp.com/showthread.php?32990-How-Long
If 58,000 tracks took a little over 30 hours, then my collection should take around 5-6 hours. I would point out that R1 hasn't displayed this behaviour.

Let me know if there's any diagnostic file that I can send through.
214


You are saying that R1 did not hang, and R1.5 and R1.6 do?

As they say in the classics, "That's an affirmatory."

Still stuck in the same holding pattern after more than 8 hours, with no CPU action from AR R1.6.

I'll install R1.0 over the top and run the process again over night for fun (& to make sure that I've not got my wires completely crossed) and report back.

Cheers .. ;)

astromo
03-19-2014, 06:35 AM
Yep. With R1.0 I've already made it past Boz Scaggs and Buddy Holly and am into the "D"s with Daft Punk.

astromo
03-19-2014, 08:21 AM
Confirmed. R1.0 did the trick. It took about 1-2 hours.

AndrewFG
03-20-2014, 03:06 AM
I am guessing that PerfectTunes is using Windows API calls to iterate over folders and find changes in the file system (so it can find any tracks that changed since the last scan); and perhaps there is a Windows WaitForSingleObject or WaitForMultipleObjects which hangs (infinite time out) when iterating over a network folder. Or something like that...

Spoon
03-20-2014, 04:02 AM
This one is something else I think, the previous hangs, were first reported with R1 AccurateRip.

Astromo, in windows file explorer type:

%appdata%

and zip up the PerfectTUNES folder

(run R1.6 until it freezes, quit the program then zip as R1.6 has a newer database than R1)

astromo
03-20-2014, 06:35 AM
This one is something else I think, the previous hangs, were first reported with R1 AccurateRip.

Astromo, in windows file explorer type:

%appdata%

and zip up the PerfectTUNES folder
Here's the 1st installment:
https://www.dropbox.com/s/ycwrimqw4cxjm9s/PerfectTUNES%20R1.0.zip




(run R1.6 until it freezes, quit the program then zip as R1.6 has a newer database than R1)
and here's the 2nd instalment:
https://www.dropbox.com/s/43y5ytbaepom44o/PerfectTUNES%20R1.6.zip


Thanks .. ;)

pierrepfeffer
03-21-2014, 12:38 PM
R1.5 AccurateRip hangs at about 75% of the scan (http://forum.dbpoweramp.com/showthread.php?33265-R1-5-AccurateRip-hangs-at-about-75-of-the-scan)


Same issue here. Purchased and installed program yesterday. About 7700 track in library. Running windows 8 PC with files located on pooled external drives.

pierrepfeffer
03-21-2014, 01:47 PM
R1.5 AccurateRip hangs at about 75% of the scan (http://forum.dbpoweramp.com/showthread.php?33265-R1-5-AccurateRip-hangs-at-about-75-of-the-scan)

Following on from R1.5, I'm getting AR hanging with R1.6 at pretty well the same spot for me

Same thing happening here. Purchased and installed program yesterday.

~7700 tracks

PC running windows 8

files located on a poool of 4 usb connected hard drives.

No problem with artwork scan. No problem with dedup scan. accuratetrack scan hangs at about 75% (according to progress bar) each time I rerun the scan. Same album covers show up in same sequence at hang point.

pierrepfeffer
03-21-2014, 04:15 PM
R1.5 AccurateRip hangs at about 75% of the scan (http://forum.dbpoweramp.com/showthread.php?33265-R1-5-AccurateRip-hangs-at-about-75-of-the-scan)

Following on from R1.5, I'm getting AR hanging with R1.6 at pretty well the same spot for me.

Same issue here. Purchased and installed yesterday. AccurateRip stalls 3/4 way throuhg.

PC running windows 8. Files are on pooled USB connected hard drives.

sundiegojc
03-21-2014, 06:48 PM
I experienced the same issue with the version 1.5.0.2 executable. The two largest folders on my local music drive contain 6,337, and 5157, flac files respectively. The smaller of the two (5157) is scanned and checked correctly, but the larger folder always hangs, even after 14 hours of trying.
Replaced v.1.5 with version 1.6 with the same result - larger file folder scan is repeatedly unsuccessful.

Spoon
03-22-2014, 04:25 AM
If everyone can reply, which Windows version they have, and where the files are located (local hdd, pooled HDD, network share).

kschac
03-23-2014, 06:06 AM
If everyone can reply, which Windows version they have, and where the files are located (local hdd, pooled HDD, network share).

I'm having the same problem. The program hangs on "Checking with AccuateRip." In my case, it is about 5% (maybe less) of the way through. I am using Windows 8.1 and a local USB HDD. I have about 38,000 tracks. In my previous attempt (I cleared the database before the second attempt), it hung at about 50% of the way through.

DownwardSpiral
03-23-2014, 11:05 AM
My PerfectTunes worked perfectly with 35,500 songs, until I updated to R1.6 earlier today. My "Checking with AccurateRip" only stops when it reaches my most recent additions, perhaps the last 0.1%.

Is there any way of re-installing the original version that I was using (R1.4)? The link I received when I originally purchased dBpoweramp now only gives me access to R1.6.

AndrewFG
03-23-2014, 03:49 PM
If everyone can reply, which Windows version they have, and where the files are located (local hdd, pooled HDD, network share).

I am running Windows 7. When scanning a library of 12000 tracks on a USB HDD it works fine. But when scanning a much smaller library on a network share (HDD on another Windows 7 machine) it freezes.

DownwardSpiral
03-24-2014, 01:14 PM
I am running Windows 7. When scanning a library of 12000 tracks on a USB HDD it works fine. But when scanning a much smaller library on a network share (HDD on another Windows 7 machine) it freezes.

I am also running Windows 7, with all of my files consolidated on a local HDD. Until I updated to R1.6, Perfect Tunes worked flawlessly on 35.5k tracks.

DownwardSpiral
03-26-2014, 06:10 AM
I'm guessing that there's no product support, or e-mail address available, that can provide an older version of the software (that did work)?

Spoon
03-26-2014, 07:41 AM
We do not have an older registered version on our servers, it is our top priority to track it down, very soon will be a test version which outputs what is happening.

astromo
03-26-2014, 08:13 PM
Done.

Check your inbox for a message with the subject heading, "AccurateRip Dump File".

Have fun with that. Anything further? Just sing out.. ;)

Spoon
03-27-2014, 04:27 AM
We need to get a dump a different way:

1) Download: http://www.dbpoweramp.com/beta/AccurateRip.exe

Save to C:\Program Files (x86)\Illustrate\PerfectTunes\ overwriting the existing

2) Visit: http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/sysinternals/dd996900

Download procdump, unzip to c:\procdump\

Run this procdump program:

Windows Key + R (brings up a run box), copy and paste this text then click run:

c:\procdump\procdump -ma -s 1234 -n 3 -x c:\procdump\ar.dmp "C:\Program Files (x86)\Illustrate\PerfectTunes\accuraterip.exe"

** the number 1234 is the number of seconds after automatically write the dump, so if your AccurateRip reaches 25% and freezes after 50 minutes, use -s 3600 this will write the dump after 3600 seconds, or one hour

(if AccurateRip does not show then check the path is correct to the programs)

Now wait until the time has elapsed, the command window will show when writing a dump, as soon as the program is run a dump is created, this one can be deleted, then wait your hour

dump file are written to C:\Procdump\

astromo
03-30-2014, 07:27 PM
Had life divert me from this one.

Dump file here:
https://www.dropbox.com/s/iuh2exspi7z7xmv/ar_140331_090946.dmp

Hopefully I got the process right. Let me know if you need more.

Spoon
03-31-2014, 04:26 AM
Thanks for your dump, unfortunately it shows at the time of dump the program had exited (it was at the final point of exit). When the 2nd dump file was created, the program was shown on screen? it was showing stuck at a % ?

Spoon
03-31-2014, 04:28 AM
The more people who can create this dump file, the better for us, the closer we will be to tracking the issue, we might even spot something on your systems which is stopping AccurateRip.

astromo
03-31-2014, 06:02 AM
221222
Thanks for your dump, unfortunately it shows at the time of dump the program had exited (it was at the final point of exit). When the 2nd dump file was created, the program was shown on screen? it was showing stuck at a % ?

Take a look at the 1st pic. This is what I see. There is no % progress shown (I can only guess at what this is). The AccurateRip check process is simply stuck.

I set up a batch file with the following script based on the advice given:

ECHO ON
c:\procdump\procdump -ma -s 600 -n 2 -t -x c:\procdump\ar.dmp "C:\Program Files (x86)\Illustrate\PerfectTunes\accuraterip.exe"
PAUSE
This is what you see in the associated window that's provided in the 2nd pic once the cancel button in AR is initiated. Cancelling is the only way to produce a dump file. I can leave the process run for as long as I like and nothing will happen other than show the status given by the 1st pic.

This doesn't seem right to me but it's what I get .. hopefully it makes sense.

Spoon
03-31-2014, 07:02 AM
c:\procdump\procdump -ma -s 600 -n 3 -x c:\procdump\ar.dmp "C:\Program Files (x86)\Illustrate\PerfectTunes\accuraterip.exe"

Can you try this one, and we need the 2nd created dump file, the program should not have exited, and should be shown on screen even 2 minutes after that 2nd dump file.

DownwardSpiral
03-31-2014, 01:35 PM
We need to get a dump a different way:

1) Download: http://www.dbpoweramp.com/beta/AccurateRip.exe

Save to C:\Program Files (x86)\Illustrate\PerfectTunes\ overwriting the existing

2) Visit: http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/sysinternals/dd996900

Download procdump, unzip to c:\procdump\

Run this procdump program:

Windows Key + R (brings up a run box), copy and paste this text then click run:

c:\procdump\procdump -ma -s 1234 -n 2 -x c:\procdump\ar.dmp "C:\Program Files (x86)\Illustrate\PerfectTunes\accuraterip.exe"

** the number 1234 is the number of seconds after automatically write the dump, so if your AccurateRip reaches 25% and freezes after 50 minutes, use -s 3600 this will write the dump after 3600 seconds, or one hour

(if AccurateRip does not show then check the path is correct to the programs)

Now wait until the time has elapsed, the command window will show when writing a dump, as soon as the program is run a dump is created, this one can be deleted, then wait your hour

dump file are written to C:\Procdump\

I don't get an option to save this download to any particular location, just run or cancel

Spoon
03-31-2014, 03:13 PM
Which download? accuraterip or the procdump?

astromo
03-31-2014, 07:43 PM
The modified command line worked. 3 dump files were created.

As requested, the 2nd dump file can be found here:
https://www.dropbox.com/s/o37ouoxyvxv43h8/ar_140331_234226.zip

Spoon
04-01-2014, 08:21 AM
http://www.dbpoweramp.com/beta/AccurateRip.zip

If you can try this fix, unzip the enclosed AccurateRip.exe program and save to:

C:\Program Files\Illustrate\PerfectTUNES\

or

C:\Program Files (x86)\Illustrate\PerfectTUNES\

Overwriting the existing.

sundiegojc
04-01-2014, 09:56 AM
My latest inquiry on this topic and your response seemed minutes apart. Thank you!
Your two installation choices imply that it is possible to install Perfect Tunes as a 64 bit app? I have dbpoweramp installed as a 64 bit app, but the installer for perfecttunes defaults to the Program Files (x86) folder. Is there a way to force a 64 bit install?

I would prefer to test in that 64bit environment if possible.

DownwardSpiral
04-01-2014, 12:50 PM
I hope one of these is what you are looking for:

https://www.dropbox.com/s/bzwdvdg34gen8jd/ar_140401_174118.zip

https://www.dropbox.com/s/6mupkodhekytyl8/ar_140401_175719.zip

dbfan
04-01-2014, 12:55 PM
It is 32 bit only, the non (x86) folder is for 32 bit Windows.

rtm1tb
04-01-2014, 01:26 PM
Fix Spoon issued beta accurate rip works great!

DownwardSpiral
04-01-2014, 01:37 PM
Fix Spoon issued beta accurate rip works great!

Still not working properly for me

DownwardSpiral
04-01-2014, 02:02 PM
Fix Spoon issued beta accurate rip works great!

Still not working properly for me. Nothing shows as having been ripped Accurately, which I assume represents the missing 1511 albums from the 'Total Albums' shown. Some Lossless albums are listed, but only the ones which are not the same length as the original CD, or those not present in AccurateRip (however, I'm pretty sure that many of these originally were):

https://www.dropbox.com/s/prg3r2pzg9hoouh/Screenshot%202014-04-01%2019.51.46.png

rtm1tb
04-01-2014, 03:50 PM
Upon closer inspection nothing shows ripped Accurately - peer DownwardSpiral is correct/

Spoon
04-01-2014, 04:48 PM
See:

http://forum.dbpoweramp.com/showthread.php?33631-PerfectTunes-R1-7&p=144724*post144724

I close this thread now, please post to the R1.7 thread above.