PDA

View Full Version : knoppix linux live cd distro gets the thumbs up

Razgo
10-29-2003, 02:39 AM
well so far anyway.

i got the cd off pc user magazine and changed my bios to boot from cd rom and pop the cd in and bingo! here i am on a linux system typing this message. it's really hard to believe that you can run an entirely different OS system off the cd rom but my how times have changed. this is of course gives the user the oppertunity to see how it all works and if happy you can then install the system to the hard drive.

i haven't worked out what the install procedure invilves though.

anyhow the knoppix website is here: http://www.knoppix.net

well that's my balb for today :D

RossRoy
10-29-2003, 07:51 AM
Knoppix is really great. I've been using it for a couple months already, mostly to get access to a computer's data when Windows decides to act crazy and won't boot or refuses to access the writer. Knoppix works flawlessly so far, I've been able to burn critical data to CD-R when Windows itself wouldn't even SEE the CD drive as even a reader.

Also, Knoppix makes a great OS (OK you techies, I know Knoppix is just a distribution of Linux) all by itself, now if only I could get my Audigy working in it (and before you start telling me it's easy, I'm guessing it is, I just never tried yet :) )

Razgo
10-29-2003, 05:02 PM
i can't use it all the time yet unless i switch off my cable modem for periods of time. i don't know how to make a secure fiirewall for it yet.

the results retururned from http://grc.com/default.htm wass not good. just run sheilds up and you will know what i mean.

RossRoy
10-29-2003, 06:21 PM
Full stealth here! Well, that's when I'm not running my FTP and WEB servers ;) Oh and when my Xbox is off too.

I'm on a Linsys router, that helps :D

Razgo
11-04-2003, 08:32 PM
yes i still have a lot to learn yet as far as making a firewall with linux yet.