PDA

View Full Version : Problems converting FLAC to AIFF



Canadian_guy
11-01-2013, 08:24 AM
I used the tools to convert my entire CD library to FLAC, it all went very well (99% with no errors and verified by AccurateRip). Now I'm trying to convert the files to Apple format using the Batch Converter and I'm getting occasional errors on certain tracks (these tracks are perfect in FLAC), basically they do not successfully convert to AIFF. Can someone tell me why this is happening or how I can fix this please?:cry:

Spoon
11-01-2013, 08:30 AM
Which error message is shown?

Canadian_guy
11-01-2013, 04:46 PM
Which error message is shown?

Error converting to Aiff, 'I:\Steve Sullivan ----FLAC\Adele\Live at the Royal Albert Hall\01 Adele - Hometown Glory.flac' to 'I:\Steve Sullivan ---AIFF\Adele\Live at the Royal Albert Hall, Disc 1\01 - Hometown Glory.aif'
Encountered 'FLAC__STREAM_DECODER_SEARCH_FOR_FRAME_SYNC' in FLAC File 'I:\Steve Sullivan ----FLAC\Adele\Live at the Royal Albert Hall\01 Adele - Hometown Glory.flac'

Error converting to Aiff, 'I:\Steve Sullivan ----FLAC\Adele\Live at the Royal Albert Hall\17 Adele - Rolling in the Deep.flac' to 'I:\Steve Sullivan ---AIFF\Adele\Live at the Royal Albert Hall, Disc 1\17 - Rolling in the Deep.aif'
Encountered 'FLAC__STREAM_DECODER_SEARCH_FOR_FRAME_SYNC' in FLAC File 'I:\Steve Sullivan ----FLAC\Adele\Live at the Royal Albert Hall\17 Adele - Rolling in the Deep.flac'

Spoon
11-01-2013, 04:59 PM
Have you tried playing those flac files? dbpoweramp reports they are corrupted.

Canadian_guy
11-01-2013, 08:26 PM
I just listened to both songs completely via my NAS drive, to a SONOS, then digital out to my surround sound receiver....they sounded great -- no issues. Do you work for dBPoweramp? Can I FTP the music files to you, and see if you get the same conversion errors?

Spoon
11-02-2013, 04:43 AM
Copy one of the files to your local pc, then try to convert, does it show an error?

Canadian_guy
11-02-2013, 11:47 AM
Copy one of the files to your local pc, then try to convert, does it show an error?

I copied the file (single song in FLAC) to my Windows 7 local Music subdirectory. I ran the Batch Converter on the single song to convert to AIFF. Here's what I got:

Error converting to Aiff, 'C:\Users\Steve Sullivan\Music\01 Adele - Hometown Glory.flac' to 'C:\Users\Steve Sullivan\Music\01 Adele - Hometown Glory.aif'
Encountered 'FLAC__STREAM_DECODER_SEARCH_FOR_FRAME_SYNC' in FLAC File 'C:\Users\Steve Sullivan\Music\01 Adele - Hometown Glory.flac'


The original file size in FLAC was 43.4 MB; the converted file is only 207 KB, obviously not correct.

Spoon
11-02-2013, 12:46 PM
If you find a 20 MB flac file which does not convert, email this file please:

http://www.dbpoweramp.com/email.htm

Canadian_guy
11-02-2013, 02:54 PM
If you find a 20 MB flac file which does not convert, email this file please:

http://www.dbpoweramp.com/email.htm

Will do, thanks....it may be a challenge to find one that small.

Canadian_guy
11-03-2013, 08:36 PM
Spoon, it is very difficult to find a song less than 20 MB (the songs have to be very short), AND one that I'm having problems. Can you please help me in a different way?

Spoon
11-04-2013, 03:18 AM
Please upload any of them to dropbox.

Canadian_guy
11-05-2013, 07:52 PM
Please upload any of them to dropbox.

I have uploaded the files, but it wont let me login...I keep getting "ERROR 403", whatever that means. Whether I try to login or try to contact text support I get the same error.

Spoon
11-06-2013, 07:19 AM
Use google docs instead? or microsoft skydrive

Canadian_guy
11-06-2013, 10:06 AM
Use google docs instead? or microsoft skydrive

A link to the Google Drive files has been sent to you. There are several converted files, all with various issues. All FLAC files play fine, some converted AIFF do not play at all, other AIFF files play fine but have the same reported errors as the ones that do not play at all....very strange.

Spoon
11-06-2013, 05:50 PM
The files are definitely corrupted, foobar 2000 (if you open the console) reports the file is corrupted. If you open dBpoweramp Configuration >> Codecs >> Advanced Options

There is an option for FLAC decoding to 'Corrupt FLAC File - Continue Decoding (errors as information)'

S80_UK
11-07-2013, 05:51 AM
Just a thought - the Windows version of FLAC from http://xiph.org/flac/ always comes with a utility called Flactester.exe which allows the testing of a bunch of files in any folder tree to be tested for correctness. In my experience it is an easy way to identify files with problems.

Canadian_guy
11-07-2013, 11:38 AM
The files are definitely corrupted, foobar 2000 (if you open the console) reports the file is corrupted. If you open dBpoweramp Configuration >> Codecs >> Advanced Options

There is an option for FLAC decoding to 'Corrupt FLAC File - Continue Decoding (errors as information)'

These songs were ripped all from either mint condition or brand new (Adele) CD's using dBPoweramp software and verified against the AccurateRip database. So can please explain to me why they play fine in FLAC, but will not convert to AIFF? Were they not encoded properly? In the case of the Adele song "Rolling In the Deep" the AIFF version plays fine, but has the same reported errors as the AIFF files that did not convert. These conversion errors happen on 1-2 songs on almost every CD I have tried to convert (I have over 800!). Are you saying this is very common?????

Spoon
11-07-2013, 11:49 AM
The files have become corrupted (after they were saved with dBpoweramp), I would check where they are stored and run disk scans.

Corruption can be from either physical hdd failure, or a broken program (such as a tag editor) which corrupts the files.

The corruption is quite small, so you cannot perhaps hear it when played.

Once corrupted you can only re-rip the affected tracks. I would make a 1:1 backup of all your music, then convert the whole lot >> Test Conversion, this will show which are corrupted.