PDA

View Full Version : ac3 sound support ???



Unregistered
09-09-2003, 12:28 PM
Hi,

I know we can decode ac3 streams to wav or mp3 or whatever, but I'd like to make a stereo ac3 file from a 2 channel wav or mp3 file. Is it possible with dbpoweramp or does someone 'need' to make a codec for it ????

Spoon
09-09-2003, 06:44 PM
Someone would have to make a codec.

auenf
09-10-2003, 04:05 AM
ac3 encoders start at US$1k, i dont think anyone would make a properly working ac3 encoder 'codec' for dbpoweramp.

about the closest is besweet/azid which also say that the ac3 encoder is experimental and is known not to work properly

Enf...

Unregistered
01-16-2004, 02:12 PM
Someone would have to make a codec.

www.ac3dec.com has a winamp plugin to decode ac3 files. It'll work on unencrypted vob files also.