PDA

View Full Version : Assistance required to start converting CD collection to FLAC

Robert Morris
12-09-2012, 11:48 PM
Can anyone at Illustrate let me know if I have purchased the correct package and where I can find a user manual. I purchased dBpoweramp Music Converte I am new to this package and to FLAC format. I have tried for over a month to access the dashboard to show my downloads and to find a way to download complete alums like you can on itunes. I want to get this right as I hope to do my entire collection. Thanks

Spoon
12-10-2012, 05:12 AM
Sorry which Dashboard?

dBpoweramp Music Converter will allow you to rip CDs to FLAC, after you install the program a manual is presented, otherwise look in Start >> Programs >> dBpoweramp Music Converter >> Help

for the manual.

srenovo
12-29-2012, 10:18 PM
To the best of my knowledge "itunes" does not allow the download of CD quality albums.
The stuff from iTunes or Amazon can not be converted to TRUE flac format - the stuff one gets from iTunes or any of the others is in one form of "lossy format such as MP3 or another.

It can not be reconverted to lossless format. One can make flac files (or ape,or shn, etc) from MP3s etc. but they are not accurate.

The purpose of ripping from CDs to .flac or any other lossless format (but compressed) is that when decompressed all the 1s and 0s from the original digital information of the original CD will all be in the correct form/order.

There are some websites that do have high quality digital music downloads but Apple isn't one of them. I do not know if any of them are good or not but perhaps someone could chime in.

I hope this helps

garym
12-30-2012, 09:35 AM
To the best of my knowledge "itunes" does not allow the download of CD quality albums.
The stuff from iTunes or Amazon can not be converted to TRUE flac format - the stuff one gets from iTunes or any of the others is in one form of "lossy format such as MP3 or another.