PDA

View Full Version : Ripping to FLAC files: looking for advice

stevejl
02-20-2011, 06:55 PM
I'm new to using dbpoweramp, so please forgive my "newbieness" ;-), but I'm pretty impressed by it's capability.

I want to backup my entire 2000+ CD collection to FLAC files on h/d and am looking for any suggestions that can help me feel I'm getting the most reliable files.

I'm about 100 discs in so far, am ripping to Level 5 compression, Secure mode, Accuraterip (my drive did the offset test thing successfully).

Some questions I have concern the logging and results information.

I notice some tracks show as "Insecure" in Red in the Rip Status field: should I be concerned?

Also, in the Information log that pops up after a rip, a number of entries show with a Yellow Triangled ! and I am assuming this is information about the AccurateRip info, and that any Critical error info would have a Red entry, yes?

I guess I'm trying to get my head around how error-correction is being done and how I can know my FLAC files are reliable and how the "Confidence" rating comes into play.

Here is a entry:

Information ripping to FLAC, 'Track 1' to 'Q:\_CD_Collection\Genesis\Turn It on Again; The Hits\01 Genesis - Turn It on Again.flac'
Track 1: Ripped LBA 0 to 17200 (3:49) in 6:19. Filename: Q:\_CD_Collection\Genesis\Turn It on Again; The Hits\01 Genesis - Turn It on Again.flac
AccurateRip: Inaccurate (confidence 32) Insecure [Pass 1 & 2, Re-Rip 85 Frames]
CRC32: 4A681C86 AccurateRip CRC: 1629551C (NEW) [DiscID: 018-003312b4-02abdeeb-0b128012-1]
In trying to read this, I'm not sure what "frames" are and if 85 Re-Rips is bad. Also, most of my Track 1's come up as Inaccurate, not sure why.

Any info, suggestions, links to tutorials, etc, would be most appreciated. I have gone through the Setup Guide and the FAQ's here.

My drive is a HL-DT-ST DVDRAM_GSA-H60N in a Core 2 Duo Acer PC, running Vista Home Premium 32, SP2

Thank you for any assistance :smile2:

Spoon
02-21-2011, 03:01 AM