PDA

View Full Version : Dealing with Defective Tracks



rmwjr
02-12-2011, 06:50 PM
Using a Primera Bravo II for batch ripping and the ripper hangs up when it encounters errors in a track rather than proceeding to the next track or ejecting the disc. How to avoid this?

dbfan
02-13-2011, 02:30 AM
Lcks up so the mouse does not move? Or batch ripper stops working?

rmwjr
02-13-2011, 12:01 PM
Not the mouse. Must have done something in the settings. When ripping a disc from CD drive (not in batch mode), a difficult track causes the program, after two passes, to re-rip (glacially slow, over 1144 frames, about one frame every 10 seconds). I set to "secure" but not ultra secure.

Spoon
02-13-2011, 03:41 PM
This is your CD drive which is deciding to slow down, drives such as the optiarc are notorious for doing this. In Batch Ripper you can right click on the cd drive line to show the actual ripping window.

rmwjr
02-13-2011, 06:21 PM
Changed drive to Plextor PX-880EU with same result. Not sure exactly what I did to the settings but did change them a few days ago and these problems ensued. Before that, error messages were recorded for the bad tracks but the program continued on to rip the remaining tracks. Now it stalls while it tries to correct frame by frame.

Spoon
02-14-2011, 03:43 AM
This can reset everything:

http://forum.dbpoweramp.com/showthread.php?t=13285

Then reinstall.

rmwjr
02-18-2011, 09:35 PM
Can we have an offline conversation? if so, please give me an address or number. More constructive that my frustrations be aired privately--in case I'm the culprit rather than the victim.

Spoon
02-19-2011, 06:37 AM
I prefer everything to be aired in public, if you have something to say...say it.