PDA

View Full Version : One PC (quadcore) with 6 CD player, OK for batch ripper ?



erpch
01-24-2011, 04:36 AM
Hello,
Does batch ripper work with one PC (quadcore, 2 Go RAM and 6 CD Player SATA) ?

Thanks
Eric

Spoon
01-24-2011, 05:55 AM
Should be ok, I would not go above 6 CD drives on a single system, rather use a 2nd system if you need more CD drives.

erpch
01-24-2011, 06:45 AM
Thank you for your answer. I will try with 3 drives before to add 3 more.

Could you estimate the speed of the CD conversion to FLAC (include accurate RIP) for these configuration : 6 drives, intel quadcore 6600 2,4 Ghz, 2 Go RAM ?

The CD are in good conditions.

Eric

Spoon
01-24-2011, 07:27 AM
Around 20x speed for each drive, dependant on drive. So around x120 speed for 6 drives, or one disc every 30 seconds.

You might want to bump the ram to 4GB

erpch
01-24-2011, 08:27 AM
Thanks, I have to buy 5 CD Drives, can you recommend a model ?

Spoon
01-24-2011, 08:35 AM
Wait 24 hours and take a look at the new CD Drive Accuracy List 2011 which is going to be posted.

erpch
01-25-2011, 10:27 AM
Did you post the list ? I don't know how to find it...

Spoon
01-25-2011, 11:05 AM
http://forum.dbpoweramp.com/showthread.php?t=23074

erpch
01-25-2011, 01:15 PM
Thank you very much !!! :thumbup:

soongsc
02-02-2011, 06:14 PM
Around 20x speed for each drive, dependant on drive. So around x120 speed for 6 drives, or one disc every 30 seconds.

You might want to bump the ram to 4GB
I have a 8 core machine with 4GB ram, never was able to see throughput like that. Normally each disk takes at least 10 minutes. Is this due to up sampling? rarely been able to see real rip speeds above 13x even though the drives are much faster.

Spoon
02-03-2011, 03:27 AM
>Normally each disk takes at least 10 minutes. Is this due to up sampling?

You should not be changing the frequency or bitrate, noting to be gained...

It is drive specific, I have tested drives which will reliably rip at x40 when it reaches the edge of the disc (starts out at about x16)

Z0001
03-16-2011, 07:47 PM
I too am interested in setting up an optical drive tower with the idea of speeding up the ripping process. If I was to set up 4 drives would dbpoweeramp rip simultaneously or sequentially? Would this strategy be quicker than a single drive? I have an i3 530 and 4GB RAM and will be ripping to a QNAP TS 419P+ NAS across a gb network.

Cheers

Spoon
03-17-2011, 01:54 AM
Batch Ripper would rip simultaneously. It would be 4x faster than a single drive (if using 4 drives).

Z0001
03-17-2011, 03:45 AM
Tremendous! Thanks Spoon.

CaryB
03-19-2011, 09:24 PM
For those of you toying with this idea, I have an AMD quad core cpu, 8gigs of ram, and 6 ESATA CD/DVD drives, all in one tower. I use various brands of drives, so if one hangs, I can try a different one. (and I was cheap, picked up whichever was cheapest at the time.)

I get around 100 to 120 accumulated ripping times on average. Works great. I stack up about 20 or 30 cds, then just start feeding them in. Once it gets going, if the CD's have no errors, I am constantly changing discs. (I do have it set to let me review MetaData if it finds no album covers, etc. So that slows it down a bit on some albums.)

I am also ripping all these to a Server running Unraid. Gigabyte ethernet. No bottlenecks at all. (If I had only 100mb network, I would rip them to the hardrive, then transfer when finished.) My biggest batch yet was about 60 CD's. Took around a half hour or so if I remember correctly.

Z0001
04-10-2011, 05:52 PM
Thanks CaryB. Sounds like its the way to go! What did you use for your tower (enclosure, port multiplier, drives ... I'm guessing you are connected to the ripping PC eSATA to eSATA?) I just finished a set up with a Revo PCIe drive running the OS and it is amazingly quick - I use J River Media Center and was able to back up to a previous library and import 600 albums of cover art from the NAS in seconds where it took up to an hour before - seems even quicker than i was expecting! Any idea if the tower set up would work through a gigabit network connection (guess an eSATA-USB-Ethernet network adapter of sorts needed) so I could locate the ripping station in a separate room?

Happy ripping!

CaryB
04-10-2011, 07:07 PM
Nothing really special. Just a standard case I got at Frey's, with 6 open CDRom bays in it. I loaded the six DVD/CD drives into it, hooked some to the internal sata connectors, and some to a 4 port sata card. If I had more open external drive bays, I could hook up two more drives. Was thinking of adding an external ESATA tower, to be able to hook up more drives, but not sure if it would bog down the ripping too much. Looking at this: http://www.axiontech.com/prdt.php?item=71301