PDA

View Full Version : Priority setting ignored



Christian_S
08-24-2010, 09:08 AM
I have tried to use the priority setting in the options of dMC but it appears to have no effect. The chosen priority was "Below normal" but in the Task Manager the priority is listed as "Normal" for CoreConverter.exe and MusicConverter.exe. The codec used is ALAC.

dBpoweramp version is 13.5, OS is Windows 7 64-bit. I vaguely remember the same behaviour for an earlier version of dBpoweramp and 32-bit Vista.

Am I missing something or does the priority option indeed not have any effect?

Spoon
08-24-2010, 09:53 AM
The priority is when spawning new core converters, not when changing the current one.

Christian_S
08-24-2010, 02:45 PM
The priority is when spawning new core converters, not when changing the current one.

Am I looking at the wrong entry in task manager then? Priority still is "Below normal", but for each CoreConverter.exe that is spawned "Base Priority" is "Normal". There are processes that are displayed with "Below Normal" in the same column, so it should show.

The setting for the priority has been remembered between subsequent launches of dMC.

Spoon
08-24-2010, 03:45 PM
The thread priority is changing, rather than the process priority. You would not be able to see it in Task manager.

Christian_S
08-25-2010, 12:17 AM
Ah, ok, that explains it. Thanks for the information.