PDA

View Full Version : Running Asset under Wine on Linux

ocoro02
04-03-2010, 06:02 AM
I've been running Asset uPNP for quite a few months now under Wine on Ubuntu. It works pretty well - except I've got a few problems which I think only Spoon can probably give answers for as I think I may be the only person trying to do this!

1) Detecting changes/rescanning is haphazard. For some reason I need to restart the server in order to trigger either of them. This isn't a huge problem for me except ...

2) A restart very rarely fails to start the server again properly. I can see using lsof that normally it has a TCP port 26125 listener running. After a restart the process (Asset-uPNP.exe) is running but it's not bound to port 26125 (and nothing else is either - there's no stray processes still running for instance). This is very likely to be a Wine problem as opposed to an Asset problem. I have to reboot the box to fix it (!)

My questions are -

* How is a rescan/detecting changes command communicated to the server? I notice on a server restart (in the debug log) that usually it seems to detect the MediaFoldersWatch.txt file has altered and therefore triggers a 'detecting changes'. Is this the only mechanism or is most communication done through inter-process communication (I can see various pipes and sockets open)? The server & library status appears to be communicated to AssetConfig fine so it *seems* to all be working as it should.

* Are the circumstances under which the server (Asset-uPNP.exe) would close the port listener? Would it do this during a rescan/detecting changes?

Spoon
04-03-2010, 06:12 AM
It is very simple, a file RescanALL.bin or RescanRefresh.bin is created in the %appdata%\dbpoweramp\umedialibrary folder.

ocoro02
04-03-2010, 06:20 AM
And the server polls that folder for the existence of either file right? Simple and effective - which is a good thing! I'll have a play.

Spoon
04-03-2010, 07:15 AM
It watches the folder for change notifications.