PDA

View Full Version : Asset VMware



audiokaas
01-05-2010, 06:18 AM
It's maybe a silly thought, but.

Would running asset on windows XP running in virtualbox/vmware on a readynas NVX/PRO be a reliable option???

It would seem the best of both worlds:cool:
superior Asset,
Raid of the netgear box as well as the lower power consumption...

Main problem I foresee is the trans-coding as I understand it.

Anybody done this or knows it's a bad idea???

Spoon
01-05-2010, 06:34 AM
You could try, it might be a little slow, not sure.

audiokaas
01-05-2010, 06:55 AM
What would be slow? Discovery music:smile2: indexing searching?
Would eg an ion asrock be better, performance wise? (an extra 17watt though)

Thanks

Spoon
01-05-2010, 08:17 AM
What is the processor on the NVX? you should look for a minimum of an ATOM or equivalent. Memory is important as well, 1GB minimum.

audiokaas
01-05-2010, 08:30 AM
Thanks Spoon for thinking with me on this.

Readynas pro and nvx have
Intel Pentium dual-core @ 1.8 GHZ vs. Intel Tolapai SOC @ 1.06 GHz
both support a max of 4Gb.

My other option would be an Atom based design.

Spoon
01-05-2010, 09:21 AM
All mentioned should be fine.

ocoro02
01-21-2010, 02:17 AM
I've run Asset on a VMware Windows XP instance running on an Atom-based Linux box (an early-spec Asus Eee PC running Ubuntu) which has 1Gb memory. Asset itself works perfectly well and performs as it should, but I wouldn't want to run it on anything with a lesser specification. Just connecting via the VMware console is slow and rather painful. A full scan by Asset of about 25,000 tracks takes maybe an hour - possibly two.

I've got Asset running under the Wine emulator on the Ubuntu box now - lighter weight and a bit faster. The NAS is NFS mounted on the Linux box which is a little faster than the previous SMB mount as well. Full scan runs in about 20 mins. My bottleneck is probably the NAS (DNS-323) which is a little on the slow side.