PDA

View Full Version : WMA v8 won't encode!



Unregistered
05-03-2002, 02:29 PM
Im having difficuilty using the .wma v8 codec...
I've been trying to convert from .wav to .wma and every time I hit the 'Convert' button, I get an error message repeated for each file I tried to convert:
"The CODEC required to compress '?????.wma' could not be opened"
I started off using dbpoweramp Music Converter v5, so I downloaded v8 but still I get the same error.
Im running it on a WinME / 1GHz / 128Mb PC. Any help / hints anyone? Please?
DJ Loao

Spoon
05-04-2002, 04:07 AM
Try setting different bitrates, as certain bitrates fail on certain computers.

Unregistered
05-04-2002, 12:50 PM
Thankyou kindly sir! T'is working now -at 20KB/s Mono!. I'm only intending to put these tracks onto my portable player anyway, where I'm not too fussed for the highest quality, rather quantity!
*Happily encodes new .wma's :smile:*
Will it be possible in future to have a more flexible encoder for .wma, so all the bitrates are available, independant of the machine?
DJ Loao

Spoon
05-04-2002, 03:19 PM
If only I knew...