PDA

View Full Version : Starting programming in vc++

biboun
02-24-2003, 09:08 PM
Hi, i'm a student in computer science, i h've learnt many languages: but just a little bit of c++. We have a project to do with opengl and vc++. the problem is that the teacher has given us an example on a basic program in vc++ and has told us to use it and to begin opengl programming (so we haven't the time to analyse the "vc++" code) But i'm interesting in programming in vc++(api). So i don't know, considering that i know nothing about vc++ except "c" syntaxe and object notion, if i can begin to learn vc++ programming: dc, handle, HWND hwndDlg, are some words i 'hve ever seen but which i really don't understand. i have the feeling that it will take me a lot of time to learn it, so i don"t really know what to do. Moreover, with the new project of microsoft "paladium"i don't know if the api programming or things i could learn, will be useless if their project is realised. i'm 20 years old, i think i will still study for 3 years.
I think also that the things i could learn can be usefull if i have to learn another api.
I'm waiting for our advices or comment.
thank you

Spoon
02-25-2003, 03:57 AM
It is not really VC++ api, as the C++ is transportable to any C++ version (classes, etc). It is more to do with Windows API, all the terms you mentioned are windows api. You might be better learning C* from Visual Studio.net

biboun
02-25-2003, 01:19 PM
i don't really know the c* language. I know that is like java and c++, but that's all. Do you think i can program windows api with the c*. Why do you think it's might be better?
thank you

Spoon
02-25-2003, 06:05 PM
Those that program the Windows API are a dieing breed (like me), for it takes about 100 lines of code to put up a window with a button. V* handles all that for you, depends what you want to do in the end.

biboun
02-26-2003, 05:23 AM
ok thank you. i think i'll try c*

daren
03-03-2003, 02:32 PM
Hi Spoon,