PDA

View Full Version : Asset and '24-bit' .flac



Pianonut
05-06-2009, 02:40 AM
(New to this so apologies if this has been addressed elsewhere - couldn't find anything on the forum...)

I've downloaded a couple of 24-bit 'studio quality' .flac files from the Bowers & Wilkins Music Club site. Not exectly sure how these are created as I can't see a 'encode to 24-bit' option on either dbpoweramp or other ripper but they play OK on Songbird running on my PC.

What doesn't seem to work however is playing through the same files through Asset (R2 beta - v 1.9.9 ?) running on WHS, streamed as wave to play on a (Pinnacle) Soundbridge and Musical Fidelity X-DAC combination.

I presume this may have something to do with the ability of Asset to handle te 24-bit .flac files?

Any suggestions?

Thanks.

Spoon
05-06-2009, 03:24 AM
More like the sound bridge is not able to handle 24 bit, on the Asset Confguration >> Advanced Settings >> Edit

Set FLAC to stream as WAVE, and set the maximum bits to 16.

Pianonut
05-06-2009, 05:13 AM
Thanks, Spoon.

Had tried forcing Wave but hadn't set the Maximum to 16-bit.

Done that now and all working fine (albeit rather negates having 24-bit files! ...time to start saving for the Linn!)