PDA

View Full Version : How do I configure Batch Ripper to use my Kodak Kiosk?



marksman7328
05-05-2009, 11:12 PM
I recently picked up a Kodak Kiosk that broke from work. It is the flavor that comes with a COM to USB and IDE to USB connectors. How do I configure Batch Ripper to use the autoloader which is connected from the COM port to USB?

sonyman
05-06-2009, 09:43 AM
Hello marksman7328

Two Versions from the Kodak Kiosk available:
KDK-1000-03
KDK-1000-04

The Type Label is on the Bottom.

For the KDK-1000-03 Unit Downlad the right USB To Com Driver (prolific PL-2303 USB Serial Driver)
Check the COM Port Number.

Install the Amtren Driver ,set the COM port number from your Device (Batch Ripper Configuration)
Thats all!

Please load more than 5 Discs to the Input Bin !

Bastian

marksman7328
05-06-2009, 12:02 PM
I have the kdk 1000 04
I installed the prolific drivers and everything is working fine, thanks!

Now I'm not sure if there are still parts missing, but nothing seems to be holding the disks in the spindle. I don't know if anybody has one of these things who could tell me if there is some kind of device below the disk holder spindle that keeps the disks from falling out. The robotic claws and clip that pushes the disk out works fine, but nothing really holds the disks in place. I was wondering how the unit normally holds the disks in to see if I could jimmy something up.

sonyman
05-06-2009, 01:14 PM
In the middle from the Disc Holder is a rod.
The rod have on the End a red marker.
Over the Red Maker is a metal ellipse .
The ellipse in not exact in the Center and hold the Discs!

Bastian

marksman7328
05-06-2009, 04:26 PM
Ok, I definitely do not have the rod :(

Another question: when you turn the unit on, where do the grabbers and the poker on the robot orient themselves? If you could upload a picture or a video I would be most gracious. thanks

sonyman
05-07-2009, 03:00 PM
Here the Pictures!
http://www.galerie4free.de/create4.php?ordner=baee1884b5992a1e576105fbef7b018 b_07-th-May-2009-09:41:36

http://www.galerie4free.de/create4.php?ordner=baee1884b5992a1e576105fbef7b018 b_07-th-May-2009-09:41:36

Bastian

marksman7328
05-07-2009, 05:31 PM
thanks a bunch for the pictures! now, let's see if I can make something along those lines that will work as a spindle...

bhoar
05-07-2009, 11:43 PM
Install the Amtren Driver ,set the COM port number from your Device (Batch Ripper Configuration)
Thats all!

I knew I wrote that script *too* generically. Heh.

Mostly to the ether... if the amtren script works for the kodak (well, at least until the last 5 discs anyway since the Kodak script special cases this due to the Kodak throwing errors with 5 or less discs), then it's not actually perfectly optimized for the Amtren unit (because, unlike the kodak, it is not absolutely necessary to close the drive tray after the amtren accepts a disc). That means the amtren driver could be modified for slightly faster disc exchange times...maybe.

-brendan

bhoar
05-08-2009, 09:20 AM
Ah, I see from the other thread that the Amtren driver does not work with the Kodak, because it is optimized for the amtren tray handling behavior.

-brendan

marksman7328
05-09-2009, 06:48 PM
Here the Pictures!
http://www.galerie4free.de/create4.php?ordner=baee1884b5992a1e576105fbef7b018 b_07-th-May-2009-09:41:36

http://www.galerie4free.de/create4.php?ordner=baee1884b5992a1e576105fbef7b018 b_07-th-May-2009-09:41:36

Bastian

Those pictures aren't showing up for me - all I get is a thumbnail. Do you think you could upload them to a different website so I can see a large version of them?

sonyman
05-10-2009, 11:36 AM
Hello marksman7328,

please describe exact your Problem!

Here can you find the Pictures of the Kodak Kiosk!

http://www.bubbleshare.com/album/591524/overview


Bastian

marksman7328
05-10-2009, 11:48 AM
Hello marksman7328,

please describe exact your Problem!

Here can you find the Pictures of the Kodak Kiosk!

http://www.bubbleshare.com/album/591524/overview


Bastian

Bastian,
Thank you for the pictures!
Basically, my problem is that I do not have the spindle that holds the CDs for my Kodak Kiosk. I wanted some pictures so I could try to make one out of an old CD spindle. Would you be able to describe how the spindle functions with the mechanical robot poker thing (not the arms but that other thing in the middle)?

sonyman
05-10-2009, 01:49 PM
Hello marksman7328,
please forget your IDEA with the old CD Spindle!

The unit is a precisions Part without cant work the Kodak Kiosk!
Please check the "Bay" for a used Kodak Kiosk unit!

http://cgi.ebay.com/Kodak-G3-Kiosk-UBS-CD-Writer-Dispenser_W0QQitemZ130304934720QQcmdZViewItemQQptZ Printer_Accessories?hash=item1e56c78340&_trksid=p3286.c0.m14&_trkparms=72%3A1234|66%3A2|65%3A12|39%3A1|240%3A13 18|301%3A0|293%3A1|294%3A50

Bastian

marksman7328
05-10-2009, 02:40 PM
Hello marksman7328,
please forget your IDEA with the old CD Spindle!

The unit is a precisions Part without cant work the Kodak Kiosk!
Please check the "Bay" for a used Kodak Kiosk unit!

http://cgi.ebay.com/Kodak-G3-Kiosk-UBS-CD-Writer-Dispenser_W0QQitemZ130304934720QQcmdZViewItemQQptZ Printer_Accessories?hash=item1e56c78340&_trksid=p3286.c0.m14&_trkparms=72%3A1234|66%3A2|65%3A12|39%3A1|240%3A13 18|301%3A0|293%3A1|294%3A50

Bastian

Well, I am not going to buy any parts for this. I acquired it for free and don't have any use for it other than as a hobby. Therefore, any repairs I make to it cannot cost anything. Could you at least describe how the spindle and pusher work together to place the CD in the tray? A video of it would be very helpful too.

Paperback920
05-12-2009, 09:50 AM
Hello marksman7328

Two Versions from the Kodak Kiosk available:
KDK-1000-03
KDK-1000-04

The Type Label is on the Bottom.

For the KDK-1000-03 Unit Downlad the right USB To Com Driver (prolific PL-2303 USB Serial Driver)
Check the COM Port Number.

Install the Amtren Driver ,set the COM port number from your Device (Batch Ripper Configuration)
Thats all!

Please load more than 5 Discs to the Input Bin !

Bastian

Hi were do I find theese drivers? Best reg. Frank

Paperback920
05-12-2009, 02:20 PM
Hi, forund the (prolific PL-2303 USB Serial Driver)
in a Google search.

And the Amtren Driver on DBPOWERAMP.

BUT is there another suggested driver for the Kodak Kiosk that works better?



Best reg. Frank