PDA

View Full Version : WMA 9.1 for Vista...???



snadge
06-08-2008, 08:47 AM
I need to encode my MP3's into WMA 9.1 as that seems to be the only WMA that my Sony Ericsson w880i will play - will not play 9.2 or 10

can anyone help?

ive tried installing 9.1 and 9 and it says wont work for this version of windows and stops..???? 9 installed but shows 9.2&10 codecs?

I need WMA as the filesize-to-sound quality ratio is the best...

my current tracks average 4.5Mb on MP3 128k but on WMA 64k they are just 2.3Mb and sound quality is same (better when i use EQ plugin)

ASLO: can anyone verify that Helix Mp3 codec is same quality as LAME just faster? i dont want to user faster codec if it losses quality to do so

THANKS

Spoon
06-08-2008, 09:06 AM
Vista already has the codecs, so you cannot downgrade to an older version (they are built into the OS).

mp3 Helix will be of a lesser quality, but less so at higher bitrates.

snadge
06-08-2008, 11:29 AM
so is there NO-WAY i can use dbPowerAmp to convert to WMA 9.1 ?
my mobile fone doesnt have WMA listed in the manual (though it plays virtually everything else...) but it played a WMA track that was done in 9.1 codec??

LtData
06-08-2008, 01:59 PM
You tried to encode to just a normal "Windows Media Player 9.2" file, not voice, lossless, etc.? That should play on anything that plays WMA files.

And you are correct, you cannot install WMA 9.1 on Vista.

snadge
06-08-2008, 02:21 PM
YEP! .. My Sony Ericsson W880i plays loads of Music types likes off AAC/MP4 and more (WMA is NOT in the list) but it plays this one WMA file I have - its encoded in WMA9.1 now no matter which codec I use 9.2/10/9.2voice (all WMA codecs) my SEw880i wont play them... it HAS to be 9.1 or under i suppose.... surely theres a way to encode into 9.1?

LtData
06-08-2008, 02:49 PM
No, the WMA codec uses the system codecs, of which Windows Vista already has the WMA 10 codecs installed. If you want WMA 9.1, you will have to find a Windows XP or older machine to encode on.

Spoon
06-08-2008, 02:53 PM
Or put another way, if you installed an older WMA v4 dbpoweramp codec (very old), it would still create 9.2 files on Vista...

Also say you had XP and were using WMA v8, installed the WMA v10 (9.2) codecs to try out, then it is impossible to go back to v8 without doing a system restore, there is no uninstall, Microsoft desgined it that way.

snadge
06-08-2008, 04:59 PM
ok thanks i may just install XP on a partition just to get the job done...thanks