PDA

View Full Version : WMA encoder settings empty



iangrant
01-30-2008, 12:31 PM
I have a problem where ripping to WMA fails with 'Error Creating WMA Profile'.
I then noticed there are no settings available in the WMA encoder settings (see screengrab below).

I'm not sure how this happened. Related, SonicStage suddenly refused to play or convert WMAs. A reboot fixed this. dBPowerAmp still broken though.
Have uninstalled and reinstalled the WMA codec.

Anyone else had this problem or know how to fix it?

http://img231.imageshack.us/img231/3381/wmanosettingsnt4.jpg (http://imageshack.us)

Wayne
01-30-2008, 01:42 PM
What version of Windows? Vista?

iangrant
01-30-2008, 02:18 PM
What version of Windows? Vista?

Yep, Vista. Also, dBPowerAmp Ref 12.4. WMA10Pro R5 codec.

iangrant
01-30-2008, 02:56 PM
Well, I tried reinstalling all of dBPowerAmp, still doesn't work. Also, now it seems SonicStage and Windows Media Player can both play WMAs fine, but Winamp seems to hang when I try to play a WMA.

Spoon
01-30-2008, 03:13 PM
This thread is very similar:

http://forum.dbpoweramp.com/showthread.php?t=16228

iangrant
01-30-2008, 05:36 PM
It does indeed.. I just verified it -- I can't rip to WMA in WMP either. I can't reinstall the whole computer...?! must be an easier way?

LtData
01-30-2008, 06:23 PM
The problem is apparently something in the system in regards to Windows Media codecs broke, but without knowing exactly what it is, there doesn't seem to be a fix besides reinstalling the entire OS.

iangrant
01-31-2008, 04:52 AM
Thankfully a simple system restore fixed the problem.