PDA

View Full Version : Drive Read Cache: weird thing



Dude
01-01-2008, 12:53 PM
Hi,

I used dbpoweramp reference 12.1 and 12.2 trial versions some time ago and when detecting in "secure options" the Drive Read Cache, dbpoweramp detected a cache in both versions.

Now some time later, I installed dbpoweramp reference 12.3 trial and when detecting the drive read cache on exactly the same drive, computer and operating system (nothing has changed to the configuration of the computer), dbpoweramp says the drive doesn't have a cache at all.

So now my question is: how is it possible the older versions detect a cache and the new version doesn't detect a cache at all?

ps: the drive is a plextor plexwriter premium

thx in advance

Tigerman
01-01-2008, 02:26 PM
In the beginning I had a simular problem with my plextor 760A.DBpoweramp said it didnīt cache.
The problem was an old version of Deamon virtual drive. The SPTD-driver was preventing a correct reading.
Thereīs a new SPTD-driver without this problem.
Donīt know if this is your problem also, Iīm just pointing to a possible cause.

Dude
01-01-2008, 05:51 PM
hi,

I saw I can choose SPTD or ASPI driver. Can somebody tell me which is the default choice for dbpoweramp? Now SPTD is chosen .

thx

exec
01-02-2008, 05:20 AM
SPTD is default.

Dude
01-02-2008, 07:35 AM
In the beginning I had a simular problem with my plextor 760A.DBpoweramp said it didnīt cache.
The problem was an old version of Deamon virtual drive. The SPTD-driver was preventing a correct reading.
Thereīs a new SPTD-driver without this problem.
Donīt know if this is your problem also, Iīm just pointing to a possible cause.

But I don't understand what Deamon tools has to do with dbpoweramp.
Can somebody explain please?

thx

bhoar
01-02-2008, 09:33 AM
But I don't understand what Deamon tools has to do with dbpoweramp.
Can somebody explain please?

Daemon tools, just like most virtual optical drive packages, installs "filter drivers" into the driver stack so as to be able to intercept low-level device calls in such a way as to present virtual devices on the system. The problem is that sometimes these intercepts are still executed on real devices and, in addition, sometimes the intercepts don't properly pass on the original call (or the device's returned data) correctly, causing problems. In addition, the intercepts can adversely effect transactions that are timing sensitive, such as optical drive feature testing (cache/c2), etc.

-brendan

Dude
01-02-2008, 10:39 AM
Daemon tools, just like most virtual optical drive packages, installs "filter drivers" into the driver stack so as to be able to intercept low-level device calls in such a way as to present virtual devices on the system. The problem is that sometimes these intercepts are still executed on real devices and, in addition, sometimes the intercepts don't properly pass on the original call (or the device's returned data) correctly, causing problems. In addition, the intercepts can adversely effect transactions that are timing sensitive, such as optical drive feature testing (cache/c2), etc.

-brendan

Ok, I understand it now. But when I used versions 12.1 and 12.2, the same deamon tools version was installed and it never was uninstalled.
So why does version 12.3 has problems with it and the older version don't?

Spoon
01-02-2008, 05:18 PM
The cache detection routines have not changed from R12.1 to R12.3

Dude
01-02-2008, 05:50 PM
The cache detection routines have not changed from R12.1 to R12.3

Do you have an idea what could be the problem, because whatever cd I use, it keeps telling there's no cache , while the older versions detected a cache.

thx

Tigerman
01-03-2008, 04:12 AM
Have you tried to replace the SPTD-driver?
You can disable it first to see if it is the cause, see second question at this page: http://www.duplexsecure.com/faq/

Spoon
01-03-2008, 07:10 AM
Even if an audio player was playing in the background, that could cause the detection to fail, it is that critical on timing.

Dude
01-03-2008, 07:26 AM
Even if an audio player was playing in the background, that could cause the detection to fail, it is that critical on timing.

But there is nothing running at all (no audio player, ...) in the background.
There is still no cache detected. Any other things I can try?

Dude
01-04-2008, 07:10 AM
Have you tried to replace the SPTD-driver?

How can I replace this driver? I don't know anything about how to do this.

Can you tell me if the SPTD-driver is installed on my pc when installing dbpoweramp or what program has installed this driver on my pc?
I now reformatted my whole hard drive and reinstalled windows, but the SPTD driver is found in dbpoweramp without installing *any* other application on my pc and still no cache is detected in dbpoweramp. So is the SPTD-driver a part of windows itself then?

thx

bhoar
01-04-2008, 08:36 AM
The conversation about SPTD might be a red herring, but I though it might be useful to clarify a few things.

1. SPTI and SPTD are two different things. The first, SPTI, is part of the windows calling interface, and the contemporary "best" way to directly interact with devices at a low level. The latter, SPTD, is a 3rd party interface installed by several different products, but not by dbpoweramp. It is the latter that can sometimes cause problems with ripping software.

2. The link in a post above to the duplexsecure site gives instructions on how to either disable or uninstall SPTD. Follow these if you suspect STPD is installed and suspect it might be interfering with device operations in non-STPD applications. Note that this might break the software that uses STPD (if installed) such as virtual drive, dvd ripping and game-disc freeing software.

-brendan

Tigerman
01-04-2008, 08:59 AM
Sometimes I wonder why I write a second line in a post. It seems only the first line is read...

Dude
01-04-2008, 09:22 AM
The conversation about SPTD might be a red herring, but I though it might be useful to clarify a few things.

1. SPTI and SPTD are two different things. The first, SPTI, is part of the windows calling interface, and the contemporary "best" way to directly interact with devices at a low level. The latter, SPTD, is a 3rd party interface installed by several different products, but not by dbpoweramp. It is the latter that can sometimes cause problems with ripping software.

2. The link in a post above to the duplexsecure site gives instructions on how to either disable or uninstall SPTD. Follow these if you suspect STPD is installed and suspect it might be interfering with device operations in non-STPD applications. Note that this might break the software that uses STPD (if installed) such as virtual drive, dvd ripping and game-disc freeing software.

-brendan

So is it true dbpoweramp uses SPTI? Because in the 'communication' option in dbpoweramp you can see 'SCSI Pass Through (SPT)'.

But still my same question is not really answered: I have reformatted my whole hard drive and reinstalled windows. The only application that I installed into that new windows installation is dbpoweramp reference 12.3 trial.
So there is certainly no SPTD driver installed, because I didn't install any other application yet.
But, however, the cache of my CD drive is still not detected in dbpoweramp.

So I'm stuck and don't know what to do. I used dbpoweramp reference 12.1 and 12.2 reference trial in the past and those versions both did detect the cache of my cd drive. Also the new version 12.4 doesn't detect the cache.

Can somebody please tell me what could be the problem and how to fix it?

thx in advance!!

Dude
01-04-2008, 09:36 AM
hi,

the problem is solved!

I want to tell to the developers of dbpoweramp adding this thing below is maybe a good idea.

So I had enabled 'clear read cache with FUA' first.
So trying to detect the drive read cache when this option is enabled, of course gives always the result there is no cache detected.
But dbpoweramp gives no information that enabling this option also will affect the drive read cache detection. So I thought it only disabled the read cache when ripping, but it also disables it when trying to detect the read cache in the options window.

So maybe the drive read cache detection should be disabled if 'clear read cache with FUA' is enabled to prevent that problem I had now. And if you disable 'clear read cache with FUA' again, the drive read cache detecting should be enabled again.

thx