PDA

View Full Version : Ripped audio won't play on Winamp



0V3CHKiN
12-17-2007, 04:55 PM
Just started using dBpoweramp since I got fed up with using EAC and Nero's AAC together.

Using the CD Ripper, downloaded the newest AAC Encoder through Nero and loaded it as the instructions here said: file:///C:/Program%20Files/dBpoweramp/Help/Codec/mp4/help.htm

VBR Quality @ .5 (about 170kbps) & No Forced Profile.

Secure Ripping selected.

Ripped the tracks, but when finished none of them play in Winamp. The tracks do play in iTunes though, but Winamp is my player of choice. I asked Winamp about it and they told me to ask on here. (I have the latest version, whatever it is up to now.)

Also note the tracks I ripped previously using EAC and the same Nero encoder version would play on Winamp.

Is there some setting that I'm missing? Disable ID Tags? etc...?

Thanks in advance for helping out a noob like me.

LtData
12-17-2007, 07:23 PM
Does Winamp not recognize the tracks or does it given an error?

0V3CHKiN
12-17-2007, 07:27 PM
Winamp shows the track in the window. It shows the File Info (title, album, type of encoding, etc...), but nothing actually happens when I hit play.

EDIT: I can take a screenshot of any settings if necessary.

LtData
12-17-2007, 07:45 PM
What version of dMC, the m4a codec, and the nero encoder are you using?

0V3CHKiN
12-17-2007, 08:14 PM
dMC version 12.1
m4a codec I'm not sure, but I downloaded it from the website just today. Is there a way to find this one out?
Nero AAC Codec 1.1.34.2 downloaded today from here: http://www.nero.com/enu/down-ndaudio.html

EDIT: I tried the LAME encoding just to see if this is an isolated situation. I was able to play back the MP3s ripped w/ the program fine in Winamp.

LtData
12-17-2007, 08:19 PM
Try updating to dMC r12.3. I use the same nero version you do and my files play fine in Winamp.

0V3CHKiN
12-17-2007, 08:22 PM
D'oh. I will give that a try. I'll update.

0V3CHKiN
12-17-2007, 08:36 PM
Upgrading to 12.3 didn't seem to work. :(

I'm guessing this is more of a Winamp issue? It plays on EVERYTHING else I have.

Spoon
12-18-2007, 04:19 AM
>I'm guessing this is more of a Winamp issue?

Yes, they are giving you the run around sending you here (if the files play fine in iTunes, that is the AAC standard).

0V3CHKiN
12-18-2007, 04:25 PM
The thing is though: the new files I just ripped using CD Ripper are the ones I'm having trouble with. Using the same Nero encoder as I did w/ EAC. All my other m4a files play fine. It's the new ones created using dBpoweramp that are having this issue.

Are there any recommended settings that I could be overlooking before I have to deal with the Winamp forums again?

0V3CHKiN
12-18-2007, 05:44 PM
Okay, the Winamp guys told me to download the new beta (5.51). That seems to do the trick. Don't know why, but looks like it's good for now.