PDA

View Full Version : Aux Input change

RobC
01-05-2003, 11:45 PM
Hiya. I've been using DBPowerAmp and dMC CD Input for a few months, and I couldn't be happier. My church is trying to move from tape to CD recording, and Auxiliary Input is ALMOST exactly what I'm looking for.
My church's service includes a number of praise songs, prayer, announcements, and a message. I'd like to capture each as a track, so folks can skip to whatever floats their boat.

Aux Input will let me start recording at the start of the service and very quickly stop then restart when I want a track break, but there's still a 1/2 second gap where it's not recording. If I want to break in between two parts of a medley (or if two songs just have a transition between them) then this skip is bothersome.

Is there a way the current toolset can do continuous recording to a buffer, and have the "track break" button just change the filehandle that we're writing? If not, is there a way I can contribute to the code to make this happen? I've been a software engineer and system admin for the past 13 years, so I'm confident I could make the change if you like.

Thanks!

--RobC

Spoon
01-06-2003, 12:07 PM
dMC will not be able to do this because if its design. Have you considered recording to one file then later splitting it up?

RobC
01-06-2003, 01:33 PM
That's another option, though I'd likely just write my own app if I go that way.
What I'd like is a system that can compete with the simplicity of our current tape recorder + high-speed duplicator.
The intent of recording the service is primarily to have a copy available immediately after the service. If a visitor liked what he or she heard, we'd like them to be able to take a copy home right away.

Ideally, a sound tech should be able to:
- hit one button at the start of the service
- single-click for track breaks with no gaps (the example I brought up originally)