PDA

View Full Version : disk space



Razgo
12-21-2002, 09:47 PM
there is one thing i don't understand about the cd writer. does it have to re convert the file over to the cd writer folder?

if i have wav files and use DCW it wants to convert them to wav again and that takes up a lot of disc space.

is it possible for it not to have the files moved over as an option?

i don't know how nero does it but i think it converts on the fly? i dunno.


http://forum.dbpoweramp.com/uploadedpics/nero.png

Spoon
12-22-2002, 05:21 AM
I did it like this to totally eliminate those errors from converting - most people wouldn't be happy if when writing a disc there was an error (underrun, source file corrupt) and it gave a coaster.

Razgo
12-22-2002, 10:05 PM
better safe than sorry :)

i'm not 100% sure? but did i read somewhere that when making an mp3 cd it will just copy the mp3 file over? anyhow it still goes through a converting process for me.

i guess i was hoping that when making an mp3 cd or using existing wav files that dcw would burn it from the folder where i have them rather than make another copy for no benificial reason?

as the music software i use to make music outputs my tracks to wav file.

i can understand when it comes to making audio cd's and it needs to convert to wav first.

i have an odd problem i haven't had before trying to make a mp3 cd.

MUSICCONVERTER caused an invalid page fault in
module MP3.DLL at 017f:0147e85d.
Registers:
EAX=00000000 CS=017f EIP=0147e85d EFLGS=00010246
EBX=00796d30 SS=0187 ESP=01435c20 EBP=0079680d
ECX=00796c40 DS=0187 ESI=00000054 FS=3fbf
EDX=0160ccb8 ES=0187 EDI=00796d30 GS=0000
Bytes at CS:EIP:
8b 10 51 8b c8 ff 52 28 8d 54 24 10 8d 4c 24 08
Stack dump:
00796c40 0000000b 014b9520 01608390 014b9344 0160ccb0 01435efc 014b69f8 00000002 0147da0e 0079680d 00796d30 00796c40 000000dd 00797c30 0000000a

Razgo
12-22-2002, 10:22 PM
ok i reinstalled and reboot and the error is gone now. it didn't make an "AllTracks.bin" the first time for some reason.

Spoon
12-23-2002, 02:55 AM
I think it must have been something from the last beta test still on yours. Now you have done a fresh install does it not convert?

Razgo
12-23-2002, 03:15 AM
ok i just tested another convert by selecting an mp3 and then right cclick convert to "mp3 audio cd 700meg" and it went through the process of converting the original mp3 to an mp3 again.

i was expecting it to just copy it over? as the original file didn't need converting.,

Razgo
12-23-2002, 06:58 PM
ok i misunderstood it :)

i was actually using the convert method so thats why it was converting. drag and drop does appear to copy the file over :)

although the end message says "finished converting". maybe that message could be changed to "finished copying file" ?