PDA

View Full Version : Explorer.exe locking music folders

crymeariver
08-14-2007, 10:56 AM
:cry:

This problem started about three months ago following the installation of some dbpowerAMP codecs. To be honest I am not a techie and I don't really understand codecs. I have a strong feeling that it might be to do with either the Windows Media Audio 9 codec or the WMA V9 codec.

Explorer.exe is locking folders that contain some music files - mp3, wav and wma files. The files themselves are not affected and I can find ways around the problem by using some utilities, but the folders will not move, rename or delete in the normal way if they contain these files. I have tried 'unlocker' and 'who lock me?' but these do not solve the problem. I have also followed all the steps to take ownership of the folders but this has not worked either.

I tried a System Restore but I got dire warnings about Windows recovering from a serious error and it did not fix the problem. I have searched the web for an answer but can find no mention of the problem anywhere. Has anyone any idea why this is happening and how to fix it? My PC runs Windows XP. Thanks.

Wayne
08-14-2007, 11:51 AM
I have a couple of questions:

Which version of dMC are you using?

Are you using the additional columns provided by dMC in Windows Explorer?

Wayne

bhoar
08-14-2007, 01:49 PM
cry -

When I get frustrated at explorer locking files or directories, rather than reboot, I close out all of my explorer-related tasks and then use the task-manager to kill all of the explorer processes. Then, if explorer doesn't automatically restart itself (sans file locks), I manually start it using the Task Manager as well.

-brendan

crymeariver
08-14-2007, 02:12 PM
I have a couple of questions:

Which version of dMC are you using?

Are you using the additional columns provided by dMC in Windows Explorer?

Wayne

I am using version 6.0.0.2

Sorry, I don't know what your second question means. Can you explain? Thanks.

crymeariver