PDA

View Full Version : Creating a mp3 copy on separate external HD



mccasle
01-01-2007, 01:16 PM
I have over 600 GB currently ripped in WMA Lossless format for streaming at home.

Since no one supports WMA Lossless in their players, I figured it was time to create a second copy in 320 bitrate mp3 for the new mp3 players in the family, so I purchased your software. I may break down and get a player as well.

First of all, can I use it to create a second copy on an external HD in mp3 format? Assuming that is not a problem, what settings would you recommend (understanding it is a personal choice) for those mp3s.

Thanks in advance!

LtData
01-01-2007, 06:09 PM
I normally don't use below 160kbps on mp3s and prefer about 192kbps. Also, it would probably be a better idea to use either wma or mp4, depending on which format your player supports (mp4 for iPods, wma for nearly everything else).

Use FileSelector to convert nested folders at once. And yes, this will not be a problem, but it will be somewhat slow.

mccasle
01-12-2007, 09:07 PM
Thanks for the feedback LtData. Unfortunately I am having trouble finding the FileSelector you mention. When I open db PowerAMP from my desktop, it asks me to Select Music File(s) To Convert. I try to select a folder in My music or other places where the folders are located and the file types at the bottom of the box are all options except WMA files. The option I see is "Music Files and Playlists" along with MPEG and WAV options.

I'm probably missing something here, my apologies.....

LtData
01-12-2007, 09:57 PM
FileSelector is located in the Start menu folder for dMC. If you are using dMC r12, it is called "dBpowerAMP Batch Converter".

mccasle
01-13-2007, 06:22 AM
I downloaded reference trial r12 and found the batch converter. I started out selecting "My music" on my c: drive since it holds all my A-C WMA Lossless files. The key shows I have chosen to convert folders and sub-folders.

When I click on the artist folders, I see the individual album folders are marked as well. Everything looks good.

I assume my next step is to click "convert" and I will be asked further questions and will select the drive where these new/converted mp3 folders/songs will go (purchased a new external drive last night to hold all these mp3s).

When I click on convert, the message I receive is "No audio files selected for conversion". Is this because the files in there now are WMA Lossless files?

I apologize for having so much trouble with this.....

LtData
01-13-2007, 09:02 AM
Did you install the WMA codec for dMC r12? Did you click the "filter" button and check the file types you want?

mccasle
01-13-2007, 01:21 PM
The codec was the step I missed and I began the installation of the 9.1 codec at the top of your page. Just before the end of the installation, it sent a message that the codec is not compatible with r12.

Next steps?

Thanks so much for your patience!

LtData
01-13-2007, 02:30 PM
You get the codecs for dMC r12 from the thread where you downloaded the beta (aka the link below in my signature) NOT from codec central.