PDA

View Full Version : Amp will not play items in que correctly



keithbaran
09-23-2006, 10:21 AM
Hi all, I just built a new computer and loaded software including dBpowerAMP.This program has worked flawlessley for me for years. Now, dBpoweramp will play one or two songs which are in que, then the time elapsed counter starts freaking out bouncing from say 1:30 to 3:00 min and back etc. and will never play the next song in que unless I manually push the timer slider to the end. .APE files and .wav files play perfectly. I have unistalled and reinstalled all of dBpowerAMP several times with no success. My configuration screen shows I have "Music converter ver 11 registered yes, Music pack and MP3 license registered yes, a blank spot for dBpoweramp, dBpowerAMP CD writer release 2 registered yes, SVETA not installed
Under codec compression screen: Audio CD is blank
Monkeys audio release 7 ver 3.99, MP3lame 3.96.1, test conversion No write, Wavewave
Under codecs read screen: aux input decoder .aux, CD cda, midi input .midi, monkeys decoder .ape, mp3 input decoder .mp3 .mp2 .mpga .mpa .mpx .mpg .mp1, ogg .ogg, wave .wave
Under Smart instal : Windows media .wma, musepack .mpc, mp4 .mp4, Flac .flac, Optim frog .ofr, Shorten .shn, wavepack .wv, advance audio .aac
I have also tried installing the MP3 codec lame 3.93.1 w/ Dibroms switches.
Thanks in advance
Keith Baran

xoas
09-23-2006, 10:44 AM
First try downloading and running this routine (from the dAP FAQ):
http://forum.dbpoweramp.com/showthread.php?t=403

If that does not help, open dAP (dBpowerAMP Audio Player) access your Options Menu and select AMP. If you are set to DirectX switch to WaveOut. If you are set to WaveOut switch to DirectX. Exit Options and see if this makes a difference.

If that does not work, access your dAP Options menu, switch your AMP settings back (if you like), click on MultiPlayer and switch off Crossfade and Gapless (assuming that one or both are active). Exit and see if that helps.

If these steps do not help, please let us know. If you are not using the current dAP Beta (r3 beta6), I would definitely suggest you switch to that. If you installed your other dB programs to a different location, you might try to make sure that you installed dAP to a similar custom location.

You say that .APE and .wave files play OK. What formats are NOT playing OK? Can you convert (or test convert) some of these non-playable files in dMC (I am suggesting this as a test to make sure that these files are readible by dMC as that would help assure that they would be playable in dAP)?

Best wishes,
Bill

LtData
09-23-2006, 11:18 AM
Try installing the latest dAP release 3 beta at the link below in my signature. It sounds like you are using release 2. The dAP beta is perfectly stable, as many people will testify too.

keithbaran
09-23-2006, 04:38 PM
As always, thanx for the rapid and correct response. Well, they all worked, I had already tried the crossfading off and that but not the Direct X vs wave. That did work. Can you explain this to mr, and is one better than the other?
Then I down loaded r3Beta6 and it works regardless of the Wave vs Direct X.
I used R2 for a long time and worked fine, who knows?
Thanx again
Keith Baran

xoas
09-23-2006, 07:20 PM
Can you explain this to me, and is one better than the other?
Unfortunately, I don't know why this is. It is an old tip. Perhaps one of the more technologically advanced of our users can explain this.

I do not personally notice a significant difference in quality between WaveOut and DirectX.

Best wishes,
Bill