PDA

View Full Version : "Drag" on converted tracks



Kathryn
08-13-2006, 07:46 PM
Hi Guys,
No I don't mean dressed in gender-inappropriate clothing....lol.
I have converted some LP's to mp3 files, so that I can CD them. Problem is, that on playing the tracks, many of them have a "slow" bit in the middle, which sounds like a tape does if it drags or the turntable drive is slipping (which it wasn't, as I listened to each track as it was being digitised).

Any idea why this would happen?.

Cheers,
Kathryn

Kathryn
08-16-2006, 06:05 AM
Hi Everyone,
I have found, since this problem became apparent, that if I record the analogue input as a WAV, the "drag" effect doesn't seem to happen.
Could it be that the compression into MP3 or WMA format is too much for my computer to do "on the fly"?
It is not a super powerful one...about 2GHZ....512MB of RAM... XP...40GB HDD (about 1/3rd full).
Just a thought......I leave it to those that know more about this stuff than I do.

Hugz,
Kathryn

Spoon
08-16-2006, 06:29 AM
Possibly, although your computer is fast enough, it could be writing to the hard disk is affecting recording, etc, etc.

LtData
08-16-2006, 05:33 PM
It is always best to record to WAV when using Auxiliary Input or any other similar program. This way, you have a lossless recording to which to apply any DSP effects or encoding.

Kathryn
08-18-2006, 01:23 AM
MMMM....Just tried recording to WAV....but it still does it.....sigh

Wayne
08-18-2006, 07:01 AM
Maybe it's your sound card that's at fault especially if it is a particularly busy section of music. Have you got the latest set of drivers installed?

Wayne

Kathryn
08-19-2006, 10:32 PM
Yes...lastest drivers installed....all other sound works perfectly...the fault appears only when recording via Auxilliary (tapes or LP's)..... I have set the priority a bit higher, and will see if that works....

It's very frustrating...it doesn't happen on every track, and never for the whole track....usually starts "dragging" about 1/3 to 2/3 through the track...

xoas
08-20-2006, 09:54 AM
I have set the priority a bit higher, and will see if that works

By all means try this. If it does not work, set the priority a little lower (I keep mine set to Below Normal). Keep us posted.

Best wishes,
Bill

Kathryn
09-14-2006, 07:23 PM
MMMMM....lower priority sure helps, but still the occasional track drags. Very puzzling....
I will think about it and try a few more things and keep y'all posted...

Thanks....xx

LtData
09-14-2006, 08:19 PM
Are you running any other programs when converting? If so, try closing them and just converting.