PDA

View Full Version : A question on other mp3 players



savagcl
06-02-2006, 10:25 AM
I have a small (desktop) Emerson mp3 player and it plays cd's that i have
made (via PC to CD) from other cd's very good.

Trying to create a cd from songs downloaded from the internet is giving
me a problem.

The cd, created with CDWriter will play on my PC and in my auto but will
not play in the Emerson. So there is no fault with the cd or the cdwriter.
When i put the cd into the emerson i can see "01" in the small window
so its finding the first track address but nothing else.

Any ideas why the cd wont play in the Emerson? Any at all?

Note: I know this isnt a cdwriter problem since all cd i made do play on
the PC and my car but i am curious about the non-performance of the
Emerson.

Thank you,
savagcl

Spoon
06-02-2006, 02:01 PM
Try setting cd writer to convert the files using lame.

xoas
06-02-2006, 04:23 PM
If your home-made disks consist of mp3 files (rather than standard audio CD that will play on any CD player), you may want to consider the settings you are using for your mp3 files. Some older, cheaper mp3 disk players may have trouble with vbr settings. In such a case, using a constant bitrate setting for your mp3 disk might work better. Also, very small bitrates or inconsistent bitrates may cause some problems as well.

If your disks are in standard audio CD format, then the only thing that pops into my head is the possibility that the Emerson does not like the type of blank disk you are using. However, this should be rather less true if the Emerson can indeed play mp3 disks and it also seems unlikely given that you have apparently had other disks play ok on the Emerson (and I assume you used the same blanks for these).

Hope this helps. Keep us posted on what you find.

Best wishes,
Bill

savagcl
06-03-2006, 06:14 AM
The files have already been converted using lame. Do you mean to let it
convert during the write process? I used the "Smart" button set to
not convert anything less than 224.

Files were converted using "CD Quality" (16Bit, 2 channel, 192 bitrate).
I did use the same type of CD as before (Sony CD-R Music CD's).

Used up 5 cd's so far (and climbing).

What else is there that i'm missing?

Thanks for the input.
savagcl

savagcl
06-03-2006, 06:49 AM
Got It.

It needed the Standard cd format, not the mp3 audio. Guess the old
memory is going faster than i thought.

I confess, i dont know the difference between the two formats but i did
notice that the standard format closed each song, then closed the cd.


Thanks for the help, sometimes all thats needed is another viewpoint!
savagcl