title
Products            Purchase            Codec Central            Forum & Support            Professional            About
  
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: WMP 12 help needed

  1. #1

    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    11

    WMP 12 help needed

    Hi all, hope someone has the patience to help.

    I'm what you guys would call a noob. I have windows 7 32 bit and wmp 12 on my pc networked to an onkyo trn609 avr. My music collection is in flac format on my hard drive. last year I managed to be able to see Asset upnp in WMP (after I installed it it appeared on left hand side of WMP screen) and was able to stream to the avr and I was quite happy about that. Anyway I was a bit too happy one night and accidentally deleted upnp or pressed the wrong button and it disappeared from WMP and I cannot get it back. I've tried uninstalling and reinstalling, refreshing libraries etc but can't do it.

    Is there a simple way to just open up asset upnp in windows and start streaming again? Apologies in advance for my being a simpleton with all things to do with servers and streaming etc but I'm really hoping someone is able to point me in the right direction.

    Many thanks in advance,
    the stickman

  2. #2
    Da Man Spoon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    29,545

    Re: WMP 12 help needed

    You might want to try Asset Control, instead of Windows Media Player, see the beta section of this forum.

  3. #3

    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    11

    Re: WMP 12 help needed

    Thanks mate, I'll give it a shot.

    Hope it's simple enough for a dullard like me to work out.

    Cheers

  4. #4

    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    21

    Re: WMP 12 help needed

    Stupidly I appear to have done exactly what Stickler has done above. I.e. I right clicked on the Asset UPNP library entry and removed it from the list. I can see no way of getting it back! Any Ideas?

  5. #5

    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    11

    Re: WMP 12 help needed

    Wow, coincidentally I just came back to follow up this thread just as Paul has posted his problem. I was hoping he had a solution when I saw there'd been a reply.......bugger.

    So Paul, I STILL haven't been able to get it working in WMP12 since I stuffed it up.

    Spoon - I have been using Control which I like BUT it always freezes up part way into a playlist. That wouldn't even be too bad if I could just shut down and restart and resume the list but it doesn't save the list meaning I have to go through and select all the tracks again which is beyond the realms of my patience.

    Are you able to offer any advice to the original post until Control is a bit more stable??

    Many thanks in advance.

  6. #6
    Da Man Spoon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    29,545

    Re: WMP 12 help needed

    If Asset has been removed from WMP, I would not know how to get it back into WMP.

  7. #7

    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    5

    Re: WMP 12 help needed

    Think I just solved this problem myself.

    On WMP where you have your library tree displayed on the left hand size, right click and choose Customize Navigation Plane, then choose Other Libraries - you can then check what libraries you want displayed, I found Asset was unticked.

  8. #8

    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    21

    Re: WMP 12 help needed

    Spooklily I have just figured out the same thing Happy now... Now I got to try and get Asset Control working....

  9. #9

    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    11

    Re: WMP 12 help needed

    Thank you!! I cannot believe I didn't stumble across this option when I was trying to fix it - it's so simple.

    Thanks again

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Copyright 2014 Illustrate. All Rights Reserved.